Baseball Drops Second Game, 7-2 to 19th-Ranked Texas A&M

Feb. 23, 2003

Final Stats

UCLA (7-8) could only muster three hits en route to a 7-2 defeat at the hands of 19th-ranked Texas A&M (6-2) in the second day of the Dominos Pizza Aggie Baseball Classic in College Station, Texas.

In his first start as a Bruin, freshman right-hander Adam Simon threw 5.1 innings, allowing seven runs on eight hits, while striking out one.

As they did in the first game of the day, the Bruins posted a run in the top of the first for an early 1-0 lead over the Aggies. Lead-off hitter Preston Griffin reached base after being hit by a pitch. Billy Susdorf drove him in with a double down the left field line.

After Simon retired the Aggies in order in the first, Texas A&M went ahead in the bottom of the second inning. With one out, Simon hit Justin Pouk and walked Scott Beerer before a double from Jordy Mitchell drove the runners in. After a ground out, Mitchell scored on a single by Cliff Pennington. After two innings, the Aggies led 3-1.

Texas A&M built upon its lead in the third when Justin Ruggiano's one-out double got the rally started. He went to third base when a failed pick off attempt left runners at the corners for the Aggies. Ruggiano would score on a sacrifice fly from Beerer. At the end of three, Texas A&M led 4-1.

UCLA responded in the top of the fourth with lead-off walks to Susdorf and Wes Whisler. Chris Denove reached on an error by pitcher Logan Kensing to load the bases with no outs. Hector Ambriz hit into a double play, hit caught Whisler at third and Denove at second, while Susdorf scored. A fly out from Ryan McCarthy ended the inning, but the Bruins cut the Aggie lead to two at 4-2.

The lead would be brought back up to three when Erik Schindewolf homered over the right field fence in the bottom of the fourth to put the Aggies up 5-2 after four innings.

Two more Aggie runs would score in the bottom of sixth inning. A one-out walk to Pennington put the first runner on base. Schinedwolf singled up the left side and both runners would come home on a Matt Alexander single to left field. Right-hander David Johnson relieved Simon and retired the next two Aggie batters, including a strike-out pinch hitter Eric Scheidt, to end the inning.

UCLA will finish up the Dominos Pizza Aggie Baseball Classic tomorrow with a 10:00 am match-up with Creighton before a re-match with the Aggies at 8:00 pm.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 19
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 4
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 14
Tuesday, Feb 23
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 10
Friday, Feb 26
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 7 - 6
Saturday, Feb 27
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 19 - 0
Sunday, Feb 28
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
L, 2 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 01
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
L, 6 - 11
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 3 (14)
Tuesday, Mar 08
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
L, 12 - 20
Friday, Mar 11
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 7
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Mar 18
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5 (12)
Sunday, Mar 20
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 11 - 2
Thursday, Mar 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Mar 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Mar 26
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 5 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 29
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
L, 7 - 14
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 10 - 3
Tuesday, May 03 - 6:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, May 08 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, May 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 14 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, May 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 17 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS