UCLA Defeats Washington in Match Play Championships

Nov. 15, 2004

The 10th-seeded UCLA men's golf team won its consolation semifinal match against Washington on Monday at the Collegiate Match Play Championships, hosted by the GCAA at the Mission Inn Resort in Howie-in-the-Hills, FL.

The Bruins defeated the 11th-seeded Huskies 3.5-1.5 with UCLA players at Nos. 2-4 winning their matches.

Sophomore Peter Campbell and his opponent James Lepp were all square heading into the final hole when Lepp birdied to clinch the match 1-up.

Freshman Daniel Im won his second match of the tournament by defeating the UW's Erik Olson 3 and 2. Im clinched the victory with a birdie on the 16th hole.

Freshman Kevin Chappell built a 5-up lead through 11 holes and then matched pars with his opponent Joe Panzeri to win 3 and 2 after both players parred the 16th.

Sophomore Chris Heintz also won his second match by beating Zach Bixler 2-up with a birdie on the final hole.

Senior John Poucher, playing at No. 5, staged a late rally that fell short on the last hole when he and opponent Alex Prugh matched pars. Poucher had cut a 4-up lead after 13 holes to one.

Tuesday the Bruins meet 16th-seeded Penn State for the consolation championship.

For complete results click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 26
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Story
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Story
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
8th (+30, 894)
Monday, Feb 29
vs. TMC Spring ...
Santa Clarita, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. TMC Spring ...
Santa Clarita, CA
Story
Monday, Mar 07
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Story
Tuesday, Mar 08
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Story
Wednesday, Mar 09
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
15th (+60, 924)
Thursday, Mar 24
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Story
Friday, Mar 25
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Story
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
T-14th (+31, 871)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
9th (+39, 1,089)
Friday, Apr 29
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Story
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Story
Sunday, May 01
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
8th (+45, 1,465)
Monday, May 16
vs. NCAA Regionals
Kohler, WI
Story
Tuesday, May 17
vs. NCAA Regionals
Kohler, WI
Story
Wednesday, May 18
vs. NCAA Regionals
Kohler, WI
10th (+12, 876)
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS