Two Bruins Selected in 2002 WUSA Draft

Feb. 11, 2002

Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.. - UCLA forwards Mary-Frances Monroe and Stephanie Rigamat were both selected in the 2002 Women's United Soccer Association (WUSA) Draft held Monday at the Sunrise Hilton Hotel in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.

Monroe, a 2001 NSCAA first-team All-American and a finalist for both the Hermann Trophy and M.A.C. Award, was taken in the second round (13th overall selection) by the Philadelphia Charge.

Rigamat, who was a second-team NSCAA All-American and Hermann Trophy Candidate in 2001, was selected in the third round (18th overall) by the Washington Freedom. She will join former Bruins Skylar Little and Tracey Milburn, who are also on the Freedom's roster.

Santa Clara defender Danielle Slaton was the first overall pick in Monday's Draft, selected by the Carolina Courage.

2001 WUSA Draft

First Round
1. Carolina Courage - Danielle Slaton, Defender, Santa Clara
2. Washington Freedom - Abby Wambach, Forward, Florida
3. Boston Breakers - Jena Kluegel, Midfielder, North Carolina
4. San Diego Spirit - Lori Lindsey, Midfielder, Virginia
5. Philadelphia Charge - Stacy Tullock, Midfielder, Arizona State
6. New York Power- Minna Mustonen, Forward, Franklin Pierce College/Boston Renegades
7. Atlanta Beat - Anna Kraus, Defender, Santa Clara
8. San Jose CyberRays - Danielle Borgman, Defender, North Carolina

Second Round
9. Carolina Courage - Katie Barnes, Forward, West Virginia
10. Washington Freedom - Casey Zimny, Defender, Connecticut
11. Boston Breakers - Monica Gonzalez, Defender, Notre Dame
12. San Diego Spirit - Amy Sauer, Defender, Stanford
13. Philadelphia Charge - Mary-Frances Monroe, Forward, UCLA
14. New York Power - Bonnie Young, Defender, Penn State
15. New York Power (in trade with Atlanta) - Meredith Flaherty, Goalkeeper, Florida
16. Philadelphia Charge (in trade with San Jose) - Andrea Alfiler, Midfielder, Azuza Pacific

Third Round
17. Carolina Courage - Emily Oleksiuk, Goalkeeper, Penn State
18. Washington Freedom - Stephanie Rigamat, Forward, UCLA
19. Boston Breakers - Alexa Borisjuk, Midfielder, Connecticut
20. Carolina Courage (from previous trade with San Diego) - Meghan Anderson, Midfielder, Nebraska
21. Philadelphia Charge - Katie Carson, Goalkeeper, Clemson
22. New York Power - Sarah Kate Noftsinger, Midfielder, Wake Forest
23. Atlanta Beat - Nicky Thrasher, Forward, Texas A&M
24. San Jose CyberRays - Alice Gleason, Goalkeeper, UNLV

Fourth Round
25. San Diego Spirit - Amy Kofoed, Forward, Utah
26. Washington Freedom - Justine Fisher, Midfielder, US Naval Academy
27. Boston Breakers - Kristin Slater, Goalkeeper, Arizona State
28. San Diego Spirit - Shelley Finger, Goalkeeper, North Carolina
29. Philadelphia Charge - Karyn Hall, Defender, Florida
30. New York Power - Erin Gilhart, Defender, Florida
31. Atlanta Beat - Kristin DePlatchett, Goalkeeper, North Carolina
32. San Jose CyberRays - Linnea Quinones, Goalkeeper, San Diego State


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Wednesday, Aug 12
vs. Missouri
Los Angeles, CA
0-0
Friday, Aug 21
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
L, 0 - 1
Sunday, Aug 23
at San Diego
San Diego, CA
W, 1 - 0 (2OT)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
Sunday, Sep 13 - 10:00 AM PST
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
Thursday, Sep 17 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 25 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Friday, Oct 09 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Oct 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 29 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 3:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
TBA
Friday, Nov 27 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Quarterfinals
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS