Bruins Travel to Reno for Wolf Pack Classic

Oct. 15, 2004

The UCLA men's golf Blue Team will travel to the 28th Annual Wolf Pack Classic, hosted by the University of Nevada at the Wolf Run Golf Club in Reno, NV.

Wolf Run GC will exceed 7,100 yards and play to a par of 72.

"We appreciate the invitation from Coach (Rich) Merritt," said Head Coach O.D. Vincent. "It's a great opportunity for our (Blue) team to play against a quality field, and it will be a challenge for us to play a four-count-four-format."

The Bruin Blue Team will feature sophomore Joakim Renstrom, and freshmen Brandon Christianson, Craig Leslie and Matt Marshall.

All four played in the Bruins' opening event, the Gold Rush Collegiate Showcase in September. Renstrom tied for 26th individually after firing a first-round 68 (-4). Last season, the 20-year old from Taby, Sweden played in 26 rounds and averaged 74.1 with a low round of 66. He recorded three Top 10 finishes and four rounds under par.

Among the three freshmen, Christianson recorded the best finish at the Gold Rush, tying for 36th place after firing a 66 (-6) in the second round. Marshall tied for 36th place after opening with a 71 (-1) and Leslie tied for 97th, improving his scores each round.

"This event gives me the opportunity to spend time with our freshmen, and to get to know their games better," said Vincent.

The tournament begins Mon., Oct. 18 with 36 holes, followed by the final round on Tues., Oct. 19.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Thursday, Feb 04
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Friday, Feb 05
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Saturday, Feb 06
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
2nd (-27, 837)
Friday, Feb 26 - All Day PST
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Saturday, Feb 27 - All Day PST
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Sunday, Feb 28 - All Day PST
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Monday, Mar 07 - All Day PST
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Tuesday, Mar 08 - All Day PST
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Wednesday, Mar 09 - All Day PST
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Thursday, Mar 24 - All Day PST
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - All Day PST
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - All Day PST
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Monday, Apr 11 - All Day PST
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Tuesday, Apr 12 - All Day PST
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Wednesday, Apr 13 - All Day PST
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS