Clemens Makes it Three in a Row at Sherwood

Jan. 19, 2004

Thousand Oaks, Calif.- For the third time in as many years, UCLA senior men's tennis player Tobias Clemens captured the singles title at the Sherwood Collegiate Cup.

Clemens, the tournament's No. 1 seed, came from behind to defeat teammate Kris Kwinta, 3-6, 7-6(3), 6-3. Clemens has now won 15 consecutive matches at Sherwood dating back to January of 2002.

Despite the loss, Kwinta rebounded to capture the doubles championship with teammate Alberto Francis. The duo defeated Cal's Patrick Briaud/Balazs Veress, 8-5.

UCLA returns to dual-match action next Thursday, hosting Fresno State at the Los Angeles Tennis Center beginning at 1:30 p.m.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Feb 27
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
W, 4 - 3
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
LIVE NOW
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
-
Thursday, Mar 10
vs. BYU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Mar 22
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
W, 6 - 1
Friday, Mar 25
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Mar 27
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Apr 10
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 0
Thursday, Apr 14
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Stanford
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. California
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Friday, May 13
vs. Weber State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, May 14
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, May 20
vs. Stanford
Tulsa, OK
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Oklahoma
Tulsa, OK
L, 3 - 4
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS