Richards Finishes Fifth at California Invitational Heptathlon

April 14, 2006

Sophomore Georgea Richards scored a lifetime-best in her first multi-event competition in nearly two years, finishing fifth at the California Invitational Heptathlon at Azusa Pacific University on Thursday.

Richards' day one total was also a lifetime-best, 2,942 points, picking up points in the 100m hurdles (14.58/898 pts.), high jump (5-1.25/689 pts.), shot put (31-3/498 pts.) and 200m (25.33/857 pts.). Her high jump was also a new lifetime-best mark. On day two, Richards picked up 1,884 points in the long jump (18-5.75/738 pts.), javelin (96-3/464 pts.) and 800m (2:30.86/682 pts.).

At Mt. SAC, freshman Ciara Viehweg had an impressive performance in the steeplechase, finishing second in her heat and ninth overall in a time of 10:59.54. In the invitational steeple, senior Leslie Barrie placed ninth, running 11:02.01.

In the Olympic development 1500m, junior Allison Hall placed seventh in her section (14th overall) in a time of 4:35.90. Freshman Lauren Jirges, competing in the open 1500m, finished fourth in her heat (29th overall) in a time of 4:43.87.

Three Bruins competed in the open 800m, as freshman Gabrielle Bournes was the highest finisher for UCLA. Bournes finished second in section one (12th overall) in a time of 2:12.88. Sophomore Alice Bohannon was third in heat one, 15th overall, in a time of 2:13.01. Sophomore Shantae McKinney was fifth in heat two and 18th overall, running 2:13.19.

Competition continues for the Bruins on Friday at the Mt. SAC Relays and Long Beach Invitational.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Jan 16
vs. Lumberjack Team ...
Flagstaff, AZ
Recap
Friday, Jan 22
vs. DeLoss Dodds ...
Manhattan, KS
Recap
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. DeLoss Dodds ...
Manhattan, KS
Recap
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Razorback ...
Fayetteville, AR
Recap
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Razorback ...
Fayetteville, AR
Recap
Friday, Feb 05
vs. Frank Sevigne Husker ...
Lincoln, NE
Recap
Saturday, Feb 06
vs. Frank Sevigne Husker ...
Lincoln, NE
Recap
Friday, Feb 12 - All Day PST
vs. Husky Classic
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Feb 13 - All Day PST
vs. Husky Classic
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. Alex Wilson ...
Notre Dame, IN
Friday, Feb 26 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Mar 05 - All Day PST
vs. Ben Brown ...
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Saturday, Mar 12 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Jim Bush Collegiate ...
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Rafer Johnson/Jackie ...
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 14 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas A&M
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Sunday, May 01 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. Occidental ...
Eagle Rock, CA
Sunday, May 08 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS