TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Women's Golfers 5th After First Round at New Mexico State
By: UCLA Athletics

Oct. 8, 2001

The UCLA women's golf team is fifth after the first round at the New Mexico State Invitational, hosted by NMSU at its Championship Course in Las Cruces, NM.

The Bruins posted a team score of 299, 11-over par, and trail fourth place Oklahoma by three shots. Arizona State leads the tournament at 283, five-under par, followed by Baylor at 291 and New Mexico State at 295.

Individually, the Bruins' Charlotte Mayorkas posted a one-under par round of 71 in her first collegiate appearance and is tied for fourth place. A trio of Bruins - sophomore Melissa Martin, senior Alicia Um and freshman Yvonne Choe - are tied for 27th after recording first round scores of 76. Sophomore Gina Umeck is tied for 42nd at 78.

Arizona State's Jimin Kang leads the field after firing a five-under par score of 67. Leslie Hawley of UTEP and Nicole Johnson of Baylor are tied for second place at 69.

Competition continues Tuesday and Wednesday.

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Monday, Feb 29
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
1st (+4, 868)
Monday, Mar 21
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Wednesday, Mar 23
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
3rd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
1st (-2, 286)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Story
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
2nd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 08
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
1st (-12, 852)
Monday, Apr 18
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 19
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 20
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
2nd (-15, 849)
Thursday, May 05
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Friday, May 06
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Saturday, May 07
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
3rd (+1, 865)
Friday, May 20
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Saturday, May 21
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Sunday, May 22
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Monday, May 23
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
1st (-8, 1,144)
Tuesday, May 24
vs. Oregon
Eugene, OR
Won 4-0-1
Tuesday, May 24
vs. Washington
Eugene, OR
Lost 3-1-1
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS