Bruins Down Arizona State, 6-1

Feb. 14, 2003

Results

LOS ANGELES - Top-ranked UCLA posted its seventh consecutive victory Friday, downing visiting Arizona State, 6-1 in a men's tennis showdown at the Los Angeles Tennis Center. With the win, the Bruins remain undefeated at 7-0, while ASU falls to 3-3. Friday's match will not count towards the Pac-10 standings.

In doubles play, UCLA took a quick victory at the No. 2 court, however the Sun Devils answered back with a win at the No. 3 position. The doubles point was then decided at the No. 1 spot, where UCLA's Rodrigo Grilli / Marcin Matkowski defeated 17th-ranked Olivier Charroin/Chris Stewart, 8-6. The Bruins have yet to lose the doubles point this season.

Following the closely contested doubles point, UCLA cruised in singles play winning five of six matches. First off was court No. 2 where Matkowski made quick work of Stewart, winning 6-2, 6-2. Just a few minutes later, Bruin senior Erfan Djahangiri gave UCLA a 3-0 lead with a 6-0, 6-2 victory over Charroin at the No. 4 position.

Sophomore Chris Lam clinched the match for UCLA at the No. 6 spot with a 6-3, 6-4 decision over ASU's Ryan Eveloff. UCLA's top player Tobias Clemens gave the Bruins a 5-0 lead with his 6-3, 6-2 win over Clinton Letcher at the No. 1 position.

With the match already in hand, both remaining matches were decided by a 10-point tiebreaker in place of a third set. At the No. 5 spot, Bruin senior Lassi Ketola defeated Chris Letcher, 6-3, 4-6, (13-11). ASU claimed its one point on the day at No. 3 singles, where Pim Van Mele battled back from a set down to defeat Grilli, 3-6, 7-6(3), (10-8).

The Bruins return to action tomorrow to host Arizona at the LATC beginning at Noon.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Tuesday, Feb 09
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Georgia
Charlottesville, VA
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Texas A&M
Charlottesville, VA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Feb 14
vs. North Carolina
Charlottesville, VA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Saturday, Feb 27
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
W, 4 - 3
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
LIVE NOW
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
-
Thursday, Mar 10
vs. BYU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Mar 22
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
W, 6 - 1
Friday, Mar 25
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Mar 27
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Apr 10
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 0
Thursday, Apr 14
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Stanford
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. California
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Friday, May 13 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Weber State
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS