Women's Golf Team Sixth before Suspension of Play

Feb. 20, 2006

The second-ranked UCLA women's golf team was in sixth place before darkness forced the suspension of play at the Wildcat Invitational at Arizona National Golf Club in Tucson.

In the first round the Bruins posted a team score of 288 (+4), but were two-under par in the second round before play was halted. At two-over par for the tournament, the Bruins trail California by one stroke, UNLV by two and top-ranked Duke by three shots. First place Arizona State was five-under par for the tournament, seven-under in round two before the suspension.

Individually for the Bruins, freshmen Tiffany Joh and Jane Park were tied for sixth place at 140 (-2). Joh posted rounds of 69-71 and Park carded scores of 72-68. Senior Susie Mathews was tied for 29th at 145 (+3) after rounds of 75-70. Amie Cochran was also tied for 29th at two-over par with two holes to play. She posted a score of 72 in the first round. Freshman Ryann O'Toole was eight over par in round two and tied for 91st overall.

Cal's Sophie Sheridan was the current leader at seven-under par with two holes to play. She shot 69 (-2) in the first round.

The teams will finish round two on Tuesday, followed by the final round.

For results click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Monday, Feb 29
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
1st (+4, 868)
Monday, Mar 21
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Wednesday, Mar 23
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
3rd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
1st (-2, 286)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Story
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
2nd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 08
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
1st (-12, 852)
Monday, Apr 18
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 19
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 20
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
2nd (-15, 849)
Thursday, May 05
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Friday, May 06
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Saturday, May 07
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
3rd (+1, 865)
Friday, May 20
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Saturday, May 21
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Sunday, May 22
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Monday, May 23
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
1st (-8, 1,144)
Tuesday, May 24
vs. Oregon
Eugene, OR
Won 4-0-1
Tuesday, May 24
vs. Washington
Eugene, OR
Lost 3-1-1
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS