No. 4 Bruins Upset by No. 12 Cardinal, 4-3

Feb. 4, 2006

Stanford, Calif. - The fourth-ranked UCLA men's tennis team suffered its first loss of the season Saturday, dropping a 4-3 decision to No. 12 Stanford at the Taube Family Tennis Center. The defending NCAA Champion Bruins, who had a 12-match winning streak dating back to last season, fall to 4-1 on the year. The Cardinal remain unbeaten at 3-0. The result does not count in the Pac-10 standings.

Like they have done in every match this season, the Bruins began the day by winning the doubles point, recording victories on all three courts. Philipp Gruendler and Benjamin Kohlloeffel upset fifth-ranked KC Corkery/James Pade, 8-6 at the No. 1 position. The Bruins also won at court Nos. 2 (8-7) and 3 (8-5).

UCLA took a 2-0 lead in the match when Kohlloeffel, ranked third nationally, defeated the 21st ranked Corkery, 6-0, 6-2 at the No. 1 spot.

The Cardinal answered back however, taking the next three matches to take a 3-2 lead. Blake Muller downed Gruendler, 6-0, 6-4 at court No. 4, while Pade defeated Bruin freshman Haythem Abid, 6-2, 6-3 at court No. 2. Next to finish was court No. 3, where James Wan was a 6-2, 6-2 winner over UCLA sophomore Mathieu Dehaine.

Junior Chris Surapol tied the match at 3-3 when he downed Phil Kao, 6-2, 6-1 at court No. 5. Attention then turned to court No. 6, where Stanford's Chris Rasmussen and UCLA's Jeremy Drean were battling to give their team the win. Rasmussen came out on top in the end, winning 7-5, 6-4 to give the Cardinal the upset victory.

The Bruins look to regroup next week, hosting No. 5 Pepperdine on Friday at the Los Angeles Tennis Center beginning at 1:30 p.m.

Doubles

Pos.OpponentsScore
1.Gruendler/Kohlloeffel (UCLA) def. (5) Corkery/Pade (Stanford)8-6
2.Abid/Surapol (UCLA) def. Jon Wong/Muller (Stanford)8-7(3)
3.Dehaine/ Aaron Yovan (UCLA) def. Rasmussen/Wan (Stanford)8-5
UCLA Wins Doubles Point

Singles

Pos.OpponentsScore
1.(3) Benjamin Kohlloeffel (UCLA) def. (21) KC Corkery (Stanford)6-0, 6-2
2.James Pade (Stanford) def. Haythem Abid (UCLA)6-2, 6-3
3.James Wan (Stanford) def. (75) Mathieu Dehaine (UCLA)6-2, 6-2
4.Blake Muller (Stanford) def. Philipp Gruendler (UCLA)6-0, 6-4
5.Chris Surapol (UCLA) def. Phil Kao (Stanford)6-2, 6-1
6.Chris Rasmussen (Stanford) def. Jeremy Drean (UCLA)7-5, 6-4*
*Denotes Clinching Match -- Singles Order of Finish: 1, 4, 2, 3, 5, 6

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Bruin Racqueteer Day
Los Angeles, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. NCTC Tournament
Palm Springs, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Sherwood Collegiate ...
Thousand Oaks, CA
-
Wednesday, Jan 20
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Maui, HI
-
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. SMU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Georgia Tech
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Dallas, TX
-
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
LIVE NOW
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Feb 09 - 3:00 PM PST
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
Friday, Feb 12 - All Day PST
vs. USTA/ITA National ...
Charlottesville, VA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 03 - All Day PST
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
Thursday, Mar 10 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 1:00 PM PST
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Mar 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Friday, Apr 01 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 10 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS