Ninth-Ranked Bruins Travel to Fall Preview

Sept. 25, 2004

The ninth-ranked UCLA men's golf team travels to the East Coast this weekend to compete in the annual Fall Preview at Caves Valley in the Baltimore area, Sept. 26-27.

The Bruins won their first tournament of the season, the inaugural Gold Rush California Collegiate Golf Showcase, which they hosted at the PGA of Southern California Golf Course in Calimesa.

The Bruins posted a score of 841 (-23) over 54 holes, and defeated second place Stanford by 13 shots. UCLA fired a score of 276 (-12) in the final round.

Sophomore Peter Campbell was the co-medalist in the 180-player field, firing rounds of 69-68-68--205 (-11). It was Campbell's second career collegiate victory.

"We were very excited about winning the first Gold Rush," said UCLA Head Coach O.D. Vincent. "We're hoping to use the momentum this weekend in the Fall Preview."

The Bruins enter the Fall Preview as the defending champions, and boast the defending individual champion in senior John Poucher. Poucher tied for 15th at the Gold Rush with rounds of 71-71-72--214 (-2). He is the only senior on the Bruins roster this season, and is the only player returning from the fivesome that finished second at the NCAA Championships last season.

"We lost a lot of experience from last year's team," said Vincent. "But our core group of returning players this year all played at least 25 rounds last season."

Among that group was Campbell, who won the Carson Daly Invitational as a freshman. In 30 rounds as a freshman, he averaged 74.4 strokes per round with six rounds under par and five rounds under 70.

Sophomore Chris Heintz played 29 rounds last season and averaged 74.0 with five Top 10 finishes and two other finishes in the Top 20. Ninety-five percent of his rounds were counters, a team leader.

Poucher averaged 73.4 in 38 rounds last season and recorded a career-high of 13 rounds under par.

Two true freshmen traveling East this week are Kevin Chappell from Fresno and Daniel Im from LaHabra. Chappell tied for eighth at the Gold Rush after posting a final round 68 (-4) and Im tied for 36th after carding a 71 (-1) in the second round.

"All season long we will have plenty of competition for spots on the travel roster," said Vincent. "If anyone goes into a slump, there will be a lot of players ready to step in and play."


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Thursday, Feb 04
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Friday, Feb 05
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Saturday, Feb 06
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
2nd (-27, 837)
Friday, Feb 26
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Story
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Story
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
8th (+30, 894)
Monday, Feb 29
vs. TMC Spring ...
Santa Clarita, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. TMC Spring ...
Santa Clarita, CA
Story
Monday, Mar 07
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Story
Tuesday, Mar 08
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Story
Wednesday, Mar 09
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
15th (+60, 924)
Thursday, Mar 24
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Story
Friday, Mar 25
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Story
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
T-14th (+31, 871)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
9th (+39, 1,089)
Friday, Apr 29
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Story
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Story
Sunday, May 01
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
8th (+45, 1,465)
Monday, May 16 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Tuesday, May 17 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Wednesday, May 18 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Friday, May 27 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Saturday, May 28 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 29 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Monday, May 30 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Tuesday, May 31 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Wednesday, Jun 01 - 2:10 PM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS