Enter To Win Tickets - UCLA vs. Kentucky MBB
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Earl Watson Has Laser Repair On Left Eye
By: UCLA Athletics

March 20, 2000

UCLA junior guard Earl Watson did not practice Monday because of a left eye procedure that was performed earlier in the day at the UCLA Jules Stein Eye Institute.

During the Bruins' 105-70 win over Maryland on Saturday in an NCAA second round Midwest Region contest in Minneapolis, MN, Watson suffered a cut over his left eye. After the game, he received four stitches to close the wound.

On Monday morning, because of eye discomfort, Watson was examined at the UCLA Jules Stein Eye Institute. During the initial examination, a retinal hole was discovered in the retina of Watson's left eye. After consulting with Dr. Steven D. Schwartz, a specialist in diseases and surgery of the retina and vitreous, a laser retinopexy was performed by Dr. Schwartz to repair the defect.

Although not practicing Monday, Watson should not miss anymore workout time and he is scheduled to start for the Bruins on Thursday night against Iowa State in the NCAA Midwest Region "Sweet 16" at Auburn Hills, MI.

Watson has been playing well for the Bruins in the NCAA Tournament. In UCLA's win over Maryland, he scored 17 points, including 5-6 from three-point range, set a school record with 16 assists and did not commit a turnover in 26 minutes.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Oct 30
vs. Cal State Los ...
Los Angeles, CA
W, 95 - 57
Friday, Nov 13
vs. Monmouth
Los Angeles, CA
L, 81 - 84 (OT)
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
L, 77 - 80
Sunday, Nov 29
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 77 - 45
Thursday, Dec 03 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 12 - 7:00 PM PST
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
Tuesday, Dec 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 19 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
Tuesday, Dec 22 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 01 - 8:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Jan 03 - 6:30 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 09 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 13 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 8:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Saturday, Jan 23 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Thursday, Jan 28 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 30 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 04 - 7:30 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 12 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA