Bruins Down Arizona 4-2, Take One-Game Lead in Pac-10 Race

May 10, 2002

Final Stats

LOS ANGELES - The top-ranked UCLA softball team earned a key Pac-10 victory on Friday afternoon at Easton Stadium, defeating No. 2 Arizona by a 4-2 margin. The victory gives the Bruins a one-game lead in the Pac-10 standings with two games to play, and gives UCLA the tiebreaker over Arizona should the teams finish with identical Pac-10 records.

Arizona's Lovieanne Jung got the game off to a hot start, hitting the first pitch of the game from UCLA's Keira Goerl over the right field fence, giving the Cats a 1-0 lead.

UCLA would not counter until the third inning, when Natasha Watley opened the rally with a one-out triple that hit the right field fence, and was scored on a single to left by Tairia Mims. Stacey Nuveman then stepped to the plate and added to her NCAA career home run record, hitting her third home run off of UA star Jennie Finch in as many at-bats. It was the 18th home run of the season for Nuveman, the 88th of her career, and it gave the Bruins a 3-1 lead after three complete innings.

Arizona fought back in the top of the fourth, as two walks and a single loaded the bases.for Courtney Fossatti. Fossatti hit a slow ground ball to Toria Auelua at third base, and Auelua's throw to the plate hit base runner Carrie Hagen in the back of the head, allowing her to score on the throwing error. Goerl then struck out Finch and got Leneah Manuma to ground out to end the inning. The Cats would threaten again in the sixth, getting runners on first and second base with one out on an error and an infield hit, before pinch-hitter Candace Abrams struck out and Finch grounded out to end the inning.

The Bruins added an insurance run in the bottom of the sixth. Auelua hit a two-out double to right, and was pinch-run for by Erin Rahn. Rahn came around to score in the next at-bat, as right fielder Monique Mejia posted an RBI single to right field.

Keira Goerl finished with 12 strikeouts on the day for UCLA, her fifth double-figure strikeout game of her last seven games in the circle.

The win gives UCLA the tiebreaker over Arizona for the Pac-10 Championship, should the two teams finish with identical conference records, because UCLA has won two of its three games against the Cats. With one win on Saturday against Arizona State, UCLA will clinch the Pac-10 Championship and the automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament that goes with it.

UCLA concludes its regular season schedule on Saturday afternoon at Easton Stadium with a 1 pm doubleheader against No. 4 Arizona State. Prior to the day's first pitch, UCLA will honor its five seniors, Crissy Buck, Amanda Freed, Casey Hiraiwa, Stacey Nuveman and Erin Rahn.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. Northwestern
Cathedral City, CA
L, 2 - 7
Wednesday, Mar 02
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
L, 6 - 8
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 3
Friday, Mar 04
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
W, 19 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
W, 7 - 1
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
W, 13 - 1 (5)
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
at California
Berkeley, CA
W, 3 - 2 (9)
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
T, 3 - 3
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
Canceled
Thursday, Mar 24
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9 (6)
Friday, Mar 25
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 6
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 10 - 8
Tuesday, Mar 29
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
W, 5 - 4
Friday, Apr 01
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 16 - 6 (5)
Saturday, Apr 02
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 5 - 6
Sunday, Apr 03
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 9
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 0
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 5
Sunday, Apr 17
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Apr 23
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 6
Sunday, Apr 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 4 - 8
Monday, Apr 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 7
Friday, Apr 29
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, May 01
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 4
Friday, May 06
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 15 - 7 (5)
Saturday, May 07
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Sunday, May 08
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Rained Out
Friday, May 20
vs. CSU Bakersfield
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Saturday, May 21
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Saturday, May 28 - 6:30 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 29 - 4:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 29 - 7:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS