Three Bruins Selected To U.S. U-23 Squad For England Tour

July 30, 2002

Senior defender Scot Thompson (Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif./Trabuco Hills HS) and former Bruin defenders Nelson Akwari and Alex Yi have been selected to represent the U.S. Under-23 National Team during a tour of England. Coach Glenn Myernick's U-23 team will play four games against professional reserves Aug. 1-7.

Thompson, UCLA's co-captain and Defensive MVP in 2001, is making his first appearance with the U-23s. He previously played in four games with the U-20 team in 2000 and was a member of the U-18 national team pool. Akwari and Yi are National Team veterans, having logged over 125 caps between them for the various youth teams.

The U-23s will face the Bolton Wanderers reserves on Aug. 1, the Huddersfield Town reserves on Aug. 3, the Crew Alexandria reserves on Aug. 5 and the Manchester United reserves on Aug. 7.

U.S. U-23 roster for Aug. 1-7 England tour:

Goalkeepers: Doug Warren (Clemson Univ.), Jason White (Princeton Univ.).

Defenders: Nelson Akwari (free agent), Ian Joy (Kidderminster, England), Ricky Lewis (Clemson Univ.), David Stokes (Univ. of North Carolina), Scot Thompson (UCLA), Zach Whitbread (Liverpool, England), Chris Wingert (St. John's Univ.), Alex Yi (free agent).

Midfielders: Kenny Arena (Univ. of Virginia), Kyle Beckerman (Colorado Rapids), Brian Carroll (Wake Forest Univ.), Ned Grabavoy (Indiana Univ.), Logan Pause (Univ. of North Carolina), Seth Trembly (Colorado Rapids).

Forwards: Edson Buddle (Columbus Crew), Alecko Eskandarian (Univ. of Virginia), David Testo (Univ. of North Carolina), Jason Thompson (Eastern Illinois Univ.).

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Sep 04
at Maryland
College Park, MD
L, 1 - 2 (OT)
Monday, Sep 07
at Georgetown
Washington, DC
L, 1 - 3
Sunday, Sep 13
vs. UC Riverside
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2 (OT)
Friday, Sep 18
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Monday, Sep 21
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Sep 25
vs. VCU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 27
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3 (OT)
Friday, Oct 02
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 1 (2OT)
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 3 - 2 (2OT)
Monday, Oct 12
vs. San Diego State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Oct 16
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Monday, Oct 19
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 0
Friday, Oct 23
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
T, 2 - 2
Sunday, Oct 25
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 4
Sunday, Nov 01
at Akron
Akron, OH
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Nov 06
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Nov 08
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Nov 14
at San Diego State
San Diego, CA
L, 0 - 1 (2OT)
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 0
Sunday, Nov 22
at Seattle
Seattle, WA
L, 0 - 1