No. 3 Bruins Defeat Redlands 14-2 at UCSB Invitational

March 8, 2003

No. 3 UCLA opened up play at the UCSB Invitational with a convincing 14-2 victory over Redlands. The Bruins, who are in Group B advanced to face Loyola Marymount on Saturday at 1:40 PM. UCLA got out to a quick start outscoring Redlands 4-1 in the first half. The Bruin defense would then precede to shut down Redlands in the second quarter while building a 9-1 lead going into the second half. In the second half the Bruins would not let up holding Redlands to one goal, while scoring five goals to earn the 14-2 victory.

Senior Mari Joyce led all Bruin scorers with three goals. Natalie Golda, Maureen Flanagan and Lauren Heineck each scored twice for the Bruins. Leah Wilson, Kristyn Pulver and Kristina Kunkel rounded out the Bruin scoring effort with one goal each.

UCLA's next game will be against Loyola Marymount at 1:40 PM, which will determine the winner of Group B. The Bruins will continue tournament play tomorrow with two games against opponents to be determined.

UCLA vs. Redlands - 3/8/03

Teams--1--2--3--4--Final

UCLA--4--5--3--2--14

Redlands--1--0--1--0--2

Goals: UCLA - Mari Joyce 3, Natalie Golda 2, Jody Schmidt 2, Maureen Flanagan 2, Lauren Heineck 2, Leah Wilson 1, Kristyn Pulver 1, Kristina Kunkel 1; Redlands - Rosenberger 1, Myers 1

Saves:


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Hawai'i
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 13 - 8
Saturday, Jan 23
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 8 - 5
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Long Beach State
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 11 - 4
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Michigan
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 11 - 7
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. USA Scrimmage
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 13
Saturday, Feb 13 - 8:30 AM PST
vs. Sonoma State
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - TBA PST
vs. Loyola Marymount or ...
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - TBA PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - TBA PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 10:50 AM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Ann Arbor, MI
Saturday, Mar 05 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. George Washington
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 06 - 7:40 AM PST
at Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 06 - 1:40 PM PST
vs. Bucknell
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 20 - 1:00 PM PST
at CSU Bakersfield
Bakersfield, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. San Jose State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 12:15 PM PST
vs. Redlands
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Pomona-Pitzer
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 1:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - All Day PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Bakersfield, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS