No. 3 Bruins Defeat Redlands 14-2 at UCSB Invitational

March 8, 2003

No. 3 UCLA opened up play at the UCSB Invitational with a convincing 14-2 victory over Redlands. The Bruins, who are in Group B advanced to face Loyola Marymount on Saturday at 1:40 PM. UCLA got out to a quick start outscoring Redlands 4-1 in the first half. The Bruin defense would then precede to shut down Redlands in the second quarter while building a 9-1 lead going into the second half. In the second half the Bruins would not let up holding Redlands to one goal, while scoring five goals to earn the 14-2 victory.

Senior Mari Joyce led all Bruin scorers with three goals. Natalie Golda, Maureen Flanagan and Lauren Heineck each scored twice for the Bruins. Leah Wilson, Kristyn Pulver and Kristina Kunkel rounded out the Bruin scoring effort with one goal each.

UCLA's next game will be against Loyola Marymount at 1:40 PM, which will determine the winner of Group B. The Bruins will continue tournament play tomorrow with two games against opponents to be determined.

UCLA vs. Redlands - 3/8/03

Teams--1--2--3--4--Final

UCLA--4--5--3--2--14

Redlands--1--0--1--0--2

Goals: UCLA - Mari Joyce 3, Natalie Golda 2, Jody Schmidt 2, Maureen Flanagan 2, Lauren Heineck 2, Leah Wilson 1, Kristyn Pulver 1, Kristina Kunkel 1; Redlands - Rosenberger 1, Myers 1

Saves:


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Sonoma State
San Diego, CA
W, 17 - 1
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Loyola Marymount
San Diego, CA
W, 14 - 7
Sunday, Feb 14
vs. UC Davis
San Diego, CA
W, 5 - 1
Sunday, Feb 14
vs. USC
San Diego, CA
L, 6 - 8
Friday, Feb 19
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
W, 11 - 6
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. San Diego State
Newport Beach, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. Michigan
Newport Beach, CA
W, 14 - 8
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. Hawai'i
Irvine, CA
W, 10 - 6
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. USC
Irvine, CA
L, 7 - 10
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Loyola Marymount
Ann Arbor, MI
W, 17 - 4
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. George Washington
Ann Arbor, MI
W, 22 - 5
Sunday, Mar 06
at Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
W, 9 - 5
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. Bucknell
Ann Arbor, MI
W, 20 - 5
Sunday, Mar 20
at CSU Bakersfield
Bakersfield, CA
W, 6 - 1
Friday, Mar 25
at California
Berkeley, CA
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. San Jose State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 6
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Redlands
Los Angeles, CA
W, 23 - 2
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Pomona-Pitzer
Los Angeles, CA
W, 25 - 3
Saturday, Apr 09
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 8
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 16 - 6
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 8 (3OT)
Friday, Apr 29
at CSU Bakersfield
Bakersfield, CA
W, 10 - 3
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Stanford
Bakersfield, CA
L, 3 - 6
Sunday, May 01
vs. California
Bakersfield, CA
W, 7 - 5
Friday, May 13 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. UC San Diego or ...
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS