Joanna Hayes Wins Gold Medal in 100m Hurdles in Athens

Aug. 24, 2004

Bruin Alumnus Joanna Hayes (1999) captured her first Olympic title on Tuesday after winning the 100m hurdles in a new Olympic Record time of 12.37. The reigning world champion, Perdita Felicien of Canada, failed to finish the race after a collision with Russia's Irina Shevchenko.

"I have been waiting so long for this," said Hayes. " The most important thing out there is to stay fast and clean. Well, it wasn't clean in the end, but I was able to keep my focus until the end."

Hayes won her first two heats of the hurdles, and ran a personal best of 12.48 in the semifinal round (12.71 in the quarterfinals). She knocked another tenth of a second off her lifetime-best in the finals, running an Olympic Record of 12.37 (old record, 12.39).

For complete results go to www.olympics.com


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Friday, Apr 01
vs. The Legends Distance ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Rafer Johnson/Jackie ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Texas A&M
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Olympic Training ...
Chula Vista, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Recap
Sunday, May 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, May 07
vs. Occidental ...
Eagle Rock, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
-
Sunday, May 08
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Recap
Saturday, May 14
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Sunday, May 15
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Thursday, May 26
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Suspended
Friday, May 27
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Recap
Saturday, May 28
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Recap
Wednesday, Jun 08
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
Thursday, Jun 09
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
Friday, Jun 10
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
-
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS