Bruins Bounce Tennessee from National Team Indoors

Feb. 6, 2003

Results

Madison, Wis. - The No. 9-ranked UCLA women's tennis improved to 4-1 on the season Thursday, defeating No. 11 Tennessee, 4-3 in first-round action at the USTA/ITA National Team Indoors in Madison, Wis. With the victory, UCLA, seeded seventh in the 16-team tournament draw, earns a meeting with No. 2-seeded Florida on Friday. The Gators were 6-1 winners over Tulsa earlier in the day.

Despite losing at the top doubles position, the Bruins were able to notch two convincing decisions at the Nos. 2 and 3 courts to claim the one point awarded for doubles play.

In singles, Bruin freshman Susi Wild gave UCLA a 2-0 lead with convincing a 6-0, 6-1 decision over Breanna Kray at the No. 4 position. Fellow freshman Jackie Carleton wasn't far behind, cruising to a 6-0, 6-2 win over Tennessee's Tammy Encina at the No. 2 spot.

The dual match was clinched at No. 6 singles where sophomore Anya Loncaric prevailed in three sets over Ashley Robards, giving the Bruins a 4-0 advantage.

In a battle of top-10 opponents, Tennessee's Vilmarie Castellvi, ranked No. 4 in the nation, defeated sixth-ranked Sara Walker, 7-5, 5-7, (10-8).

Bruin freshman Laura Gordon and sophomore Sarah Gregg also dropped singles matches Thursday.

UCLA, which improves to 10-4 all-time in first round matches at the Indoors, will face Florida at 3:30 p.m. (CST) on Friday.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Friday, Mar 11
at California
Berkeley, CA
Rained out.
Saturday, Mar 12
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
L, 1 - 5
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3
Friday, Apr 01
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Apr 03
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
-
Friday, May 13
vs. Notre Dame
Columbus, OH
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, May 14
at Ohio State
Columbus, OH
L, 1 - 4
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS