Women's Basketball Drops Final Game, 81-72, To Townsville
Photo gallery - day seven

June 30, 2005

Cairns, Australia - The UCLA women's basketball team lost its final game in its Australian tour, losing 81-72 to the Townsville Fire in Cairns, Australia Thursday night. The Bruins cut a 26-point deficit to single digits with a furious fourth quarter rally but ran out of time in their comeback quest. Noelle Quinn led the Bruins with 27 points, 19 in the second half and 10 in the fourth quarter.

The Bruin rally started with an 18-8 run in the fourth quarter to close the gap to 10 points with 5:47 to play. Lindsey Pluimer hit a layup and was fouled and completed the three-point play to make the score 70-60. A Pluimer jumper cut the lead to eight (70-62) with 5:02 to play, but Tania Heritage hit one of her six three-pointers in the game with 4:42 to again increase the Fire's lead to double-digits. UCLA outscored Townsville 30-16 in the fourth quarter.

Joining Quinn in double-digit scoring were Lisa Willis with 13 points and Pluimer with 11. Also scoring were Ortal Oren with seven points, Lauren Pedersen and Nikki Blue with five each, and Amanda Livingston and Sissy Pickett with two apiece.

UCLA finishes its Australia tour with a 3-1 record, having posted wins over the Sutherland Sharks, Australian Junior National Team and Bankstown Bruins.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Nov 01
vs. Vanguard
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13
vs. St. John's
Los Angeles, CA
W, 73 - 58
Friday, Nov 20
vs. James Madison
Los Angeles, CA
W, 90 - 61
Sunday, Nov 22
vs. South Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 65 - 68
Friday, Nov 27
vs. Louisiana Tech
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
W, 68 - 57
Saturday, Nov 28
vs. Notre Dame
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
L, 84 - 92 (OT)
Saturday, Dec 05 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSU Bakersfield
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 13 - 11:00 AM PST
at Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Wednesday, Dec 16 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Dec 18 - 7:05 PM PST
at Sacramento State
Sacramento, CA
Monday, Dec 21 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Monday, Dec 28 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Riverside
Riverside, CA
Wednesday, Dec 30 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 02 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Jan 04 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Jan 10 - 6:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 15 - 6:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Jan 17 - 12:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Friday, Jan 22 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Jan 24 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 29 - 6:00 PM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Sunday, Jan 31 - 1:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Feb 05 - 5:00 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Feb 07 - 12:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Feb 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Feb 21 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Feb 26 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA