Bruins Strong After Day One of MPSF Indoor Track Championships

Feb. 25, 2005

The UCLA men's track and field team had a strong first day at the MPSF Indoor Championships on Friday in Seattle, WA as several Bruins picked up NCAA Championship qualifying marks and advanced to the finals in their respective events on Saturday.

In the men's competition, junior Craig Everhart ran an indoor lifetime-best and provisional qualifying time of 46.36 in the 400m. Everhart is the top qualifier for tomorrow's 400m final. Seniors Mario Bassani and Denye' Versher also qualified for tomorrow's 400m final with lifetime-bests of 47.62 and 47.81 respectively.

Seniors Jonathan Williams (7.91, indoor lifetime-best) and Tony Golston (7.95) picked up provisional qualifying marks in the 60m hurdles to move on to Saturday's final.

In the mile competition, seniors Jon Rankin and Ben Aragon qualified for tomorrow's final with Rankin running the third best time of the night (4:05.24, indoor-best) and Aragon running the sixth best time (4:07.15).

Three Bruin men qualified for the 800m final - junior Martell Munguia (1:50.10), senior Nick Thornton (1:50.00), and freshman Mike Haddan (1:52.04, indoor-best). Freshman Austin Ramos placed seventh in the 5000m in a time of 14:19.37.

In the weight throw competition, junior Jeremy Silverman threw a lifetime-best 57-10.25 to finish fourth overall, while junior Andrew Ninow placed eighth with a toss of 55-2.25.

The Distance Medley Relay team of Aragon, Versher, Haddan and Rankin won in a provisional time of 9:42.53.

Competition continues on Saturday with the finals of all running events, 4x400m relay and the following field events: men and women's high jump, men and women's triple jump, men and wonen's shot put and the men's pole vault.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Friday, Apr 01
vs. The Legends Distance ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Rafer Johnson/Jackie ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Texas A&M
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Olympic Training ...
Chula Vista, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Recap
Sunday, May 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, May 07
vs. Occidental ...
Eagle Rock, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
-
Sunday, May 08
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Recap
Saturday, May 14
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Sunday, May 15
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Thursday, May 26
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Suspended
Friday, May 27
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Recap
Saturday, May 28
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Recap
Wednesday, Jun 08
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
Thursday, Jun 09
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
Friday, Jun 10
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
-
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS