NCAA Water Polo Champions 2015
Former UCLA Water Polo Standouts Take Second Place

Aug. 14, 2006

Palo Alto, Calif. - Eleven former UCLA water polo players from the late 1960s and early 1970s took second place at the FINA Masters World Championships, a week-long tournament that lasted from Aug. 6-12 at Stanford University.

The UCLA squad finished second in the seven-team men's 55+ age division. The "NorCal Alumni Blue" team took first place, and the "California Old Boys" rounded out the top three. Two of UCLA's conference foes, California and Stanford, both fielded teams in the men's 55+ bracket.

Each of the 11 former Bruins was a member of at least one UCLA national championship squad from either 1969, 1971 or 1972. UCLA's team was comprised of Gregg Arth, Paul Becskehazy, Kevin Craig, James Ferguson, Andy Keene, Eric Lindroth, James Puffer, Robert Ramsey, Doug Roth, John Rees and Carl Thomas.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events