Nikki Blue Named U.S. Bank Pac-10 Women's Basketball Player Of The Week

Feb. 7, 2005

Walnut Creek, Calif. - UCLA junior guard Nikki Blue has been named the U.S. Bank Pac-10 Women's Basketball Player of the Week for Jan. 31- Feb. 6, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Blue, a native of Bakersfield, Calif., averaged 22.5 points, 7.5 assists, 7.0 steals and 4.0 rebounds, in two games as UCLA swept Washington and Washington State. On the weekend, she shot 57.1 percent from beyond the arc (4-of-7) and 79.2 percent (19-of-24) from the foul line.

In UCLA's 86-81 victory over Washington on Feb. 3, Blue scored 23 points and went 6-of-13 from the field. Blue tied a season-best with eight steals and dished out eight assists.

In the 68-63 win over Washington State on Feb. 6, Blue led the Bruins with 22 points, seven assists and added six steals. She moved into 11th on UCLA's all-time scoring list (1,240 points) with her game-high performance. Blue also moved up on the UCLA assists list into a tie for seventh with 381 career assists.

UCLA (15-7 overall, 9-4 Pac-10) is third in the Conference race heading into this week's games, with a half-game lead over fourth-place Oregon (15-6, 8-4). The Bruins will travel to the desert to face Arizona and Arizona State on Thursday and Saturday, respectively.

The Player of the Week honor is the first for Blue and is the 31st all-time selection for UCLA.

ALSO NOMINATED: Cathrine Kraayeveld, ORE; Brooke Smith, STAN; Kim Gipson, USC; Kayla Burt, WASH; Keisha Moore, WSU.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Nov 01 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Vanguard
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. St. John's
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. James Madison
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 22 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. South Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 27 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Louisiana Tech
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
Saturday, Nov 28 - TBA PST
vs. Denver or Notre Dame
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
Saturday, Dec 05 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSU Bakersfield
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 13 - 11:00 AM PST
at Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Wednesday, Dec 16 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Dec 18 - 7:05 PM PST
at Sacramento State
Sacramento, CA
Monday, Dec 21 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Monday, Dec 28 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Riverside
Riverside, CA
Wednesday, Dec 30 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA