Chris Sands Continues Run at ITA Men's All-American Championships

Oct. 12, 1999

AUSTIN, Texas-- UCLA's Chris Sands defeated Oklahoma State's Chris Bates 6-3, 7-6(4) in the first round singles qualifying tournament of the 1999 ITA All-American Men's Championships. With the win, Sands advances to Wednesday's second round, where he will meet Michigan State's Francisco Trinidad.

Second round winners will advance to the main draw, which begins Thursday, Oct. 14 and ends on Monday, Oct. 18.

Earlier this week in pre-qualifying doubles action, the UCLA duo of Alan Bohane and Zac Knysh advanced to the second round before falling to Boise State's Rio Khuharski and Andrew Ronmich.

The Reebok/ITA Men's All-American Championships is the nation's largest NCAA Division I tennis tournament. Between the two qualifying tournaments and the main draw, over 350 players are expected to compete during the nine-day tournament. The toughest hard-court event of the fall season, some of the nation's top collegiate men's tennis players will be competing at the All-American Championships hosted by the University of Texas.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Jan 10 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. Bruin Racqueteer Day
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 15 - All Day PST
vs. NCTC Tournament
Friday, Jan 15 - All Day PST
vs. Sherwood Collegiate ...
Thousand Oaks, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 23 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. SMU
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Jan 24 - TBA PST
vs. Georgia Tech or New ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 30 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Jan 31 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 05 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Feb 09 - 2:00 PM PST
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
Friday, Feb 12 - All Day PST
vs. USTA/ITA National ...
Charlottesville, VA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA