Noelle Quinn Named Pac-10 Women's Basketball Player Of The Week

Dec. 6, 2004

Walnut Creek, CA - UCLA sophomore guard Noelle Quinn has been named the U.S. Bank Pac-10 Women's Basketball Player of the Week for Nov. 29-Dec. 5, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Quinn, a Los Angeles native, recorded her fourth and fifth consecutive 20-point games last week as UCLA defeated Pepperdine on Dec. 2 and upset No. 14/13 Purdue on Dec. 5. On the week, she averaged 21.5 points, 7.5 rebounds, 4.0 assists and 2.0 steals, helping the Bruins knock off their second top 15 opponent in a one-week span. In the two games, she shot a combined 53.6 percent from the floor (15-of-28) and made 12-of-16 free throws (75.0 percent).

In the 75-6 victory over the Waves, Quinn notched 20 points and added a team-high tying eight rebounds and three assists. She followed that performance with 23 points and a team-best seven rebounds in the 70-64 upset of the Boilermakers. UCLA improved to 5-0 on the season when Quinn notches 20 or more points.

The win over Purdue came exactly one week after UCLA (5-1 overall) downed then-No. 4/4 Texas. The win also secured the Bruins' best start since beginning the 1982-83 season at 5-0. UCLA is 5-0 on the season when Quinn scores 20 or more points.

The Bruins are back in action Saturday when they travel to Fresno State for a 5 p.m. tip-off.

The Player of the Week honor is the fourth for Quinn and second this season. It is the 30th all-time selection for UCLA.

ALSO NOMINATED: Dee-Dee Wheeler, ARIZ; Kylan Loney, ASU; Jessica Lawson, CAL; Andrea Bills, ORE; Kim Butler, OSU; Rachel Woodward, USC; Emma Joneby, WSU.

2004-05 PAC-10 WOMEN'S BASKETBALL PLAYERS OF THE WEEK: Nov. 29- Noelle Quinn, UCLA; Dec. 6- Noelle Quinn, UCLA.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Nov 01
vs. Vanguard
Los Angeles, CA
W, 113 - 42
Friday, Nov 13
vs. St. John's
Los Angeles, CA
W, 73 - 58
Friday, Nov 20
vs. James Madison
Los Angeles, CA
W, 90 - 61
Sunday, Nov 22
vs. South Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 65 - 68
Friday, Nov 27 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Louisiana Tech
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
Saturday, Nov 28 - TBA PST
vs. Denver or Notre Dame
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
Saturday, Dec 05 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSU Bakersfield
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 13 - 11:00 AM PST
at Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Wednesday, Dec 16 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Dec 18 - 7:05 PM PST
at Sacramento State
Sacramento, CA
Monday, Dec 21 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Monday, Dec 28 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Riverside
Riverside, CA
Wednesday, Dec 30 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 02 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Jan 04 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Jan 10 - 6:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 15 - 6:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Jan 17 - 12:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Friday, Jan 22 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Jan 24 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 29 - 6:00 PM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Sunday, Jan 31 - 1:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Feb 05 - 5:00 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Feb 07 - 12:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Feb 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Feb 21 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR