UCLA, Northridge Battle To Scoreless Tie

Oct. 14, 2005

Box Score

Northridge, CA - Playing under 90-plus degree San Fernando Valley heat, the offenses of both UCLA and Cal State Northridge went cold, with the two men's soccer teams playing to a 0-0 tie. Both squads had 12 shots, including three on goal. The Bruins played the final 33 minutes down a man after midfielder Patrick Ianni was red-carded in the 77th minute but played tough defense to keep the Matadors off the boards.

UCLA goalkeeper Nate Pena earned the shutout for UCLA, his first of the season, making three saves. Matador keeper Kevin Guppy also had three saves in the shutout.

Ianni was ejected from the game during an altercation in the box prior to a Bruin free kick at 76:32, forcing UCLA to play a man down the rest of the game. However, the Bruin defense did well to dilute the man advantage, allowing just one shot on goal following the red card. Pena had the save on that shot on goal, a rocket by Matt Tracy that Pena tipped just wide two minutes into the first overtime. Northridge had a good opportunity in the final seconds of the second overtime period when Daniel Paladini mounted an attack in the box, but Bruin defender Kiel McClung stole the ball to end the threat.

"We defended pretty well, but we didn't play as well in our attack today," said UCLA head coach Jorge Salcedo. "We weren't as fluid as we have been. I think the weather and the choppiness of the game played a role in that. But we didn't let them take it to us after we got the red card, and our defenders did well with 10 men to keep it 0-0."

UCLA's best offensive chance came with 1:13 left in regulation, when McClung launched a free kick into the box that was picked off by Guppy just before a Bruin player was able to get a head on it.

The Bruins (7-3-1) will host San Diego State on Sunday, Oct. 16 in a Pac-10 Conference game at Frank W. Marshall Field. The game begins at 1 pm. Cal State Northridge (7-2-3) next hosts UC Irvine on Oct. 19.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Tuesday, Aug 18
vs. Mexican U-17 ...
Los Angeles, CA
T, 1 - 1
Saturday, Aug 22
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Aug 29 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. New Mexico
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 04 - 4:00 PM PST
at Maryland
College Park, MD
Monday, Sep 07 - 10:00 AM PST
at Georgetown
Washington, DC
Sunday, Sep 13 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. UC Riverside
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Sep 21 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 25 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. VCU
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 27 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 1:30 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Sunday, Oct 04 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Monday, Oct 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 16 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Oct 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 8:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 3:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 10:00 AM PST
at Akron
Akron, OH
Friday, Nov 06 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 08 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Nov 14 - 7:00 PM PST
at San Diego State
San Diego, CA
Thursday, Nov 19 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS