NCAA Water Polo Champions 2015
Brett Ormsby Named Cutino Award Finalist

Dec. 14, 2004

LOS ANGELES, Calif. - For the second year in a row, UCLA senior attacker Brett Ormsby has been named a finalist for the Peter J. Cutino Award, an honor annually bestowed upon the nation's best men's and women's water polo player. Joining Ormsby as the other two male nominees are Stanford's Tony Azevedo, who has the won the award the past three years, and USC's Juraj Zatovic.

Ormsby concluded his four-year UCLA career on December 5 as the Bruins defeated Stanford in the NCAA Finals for the school's eighth national championship. The El Cajon, California native led UCLA in scoring for the fourth consecutive year with 70 goals. Ormsby also finished with 23 assists, second on the squad, and led the team with 30 steals. He finished his career with 241 goals, second most all-time at UCLA. Ormsby was named a first-team All-Mountain Pacific Sports Federation selection for the third consecutive year and was also tabbed as the NCAA Tournament MVP. He is expected to receive his fourth consecutive All-America selection later this year.

The Peter J. Cutino Award will be presented on June 4, 2005 at The Olympic Club's Lakeside Clubhouse in San Francisco. The top three final candidates and their coaches will be in attendance as well as the female candidates and their coaches.

Ormsby competed for the U.S. in the Athens Olympics and is expected to return to UCLA in 2005 as an undergraduate assistant.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events