UCLA Women Still No. 1 In This Week's National Collegiate T&F Rankings

May 9, 2001

After defeating USC last Saturday in the annual dual track & field meet, Jeanette Bolden's UCLA women's team this week is still rated No. 1 in the nation in both polls and Art Venegas' men's team remains one of the nation's top dual meet squads.

In the Trackwire National Top 25 for women, UCLA remains No. 1 with 81 points, ahead of second-place USC, with 64 (BYU 38, LSU 37 and South Carolina 33 round out the Top 5). On May 5 at USC, the Bruin women beat USC in the dual meet, 85-78. It was UCLA's ninth consecutive dual victory over the Trojans. The teams will face each other on two more occasions this season - on May 19-20 at the Pac-10 Championships in Berkeley and on May 30-June 2 at the NCAA Outdoor Championships in Eugene, OR. In the eight weeks of Trackwire outdoor rankings, the Bruin women have been rated No. 1 in the U. S. on six occasions, including the last four weeks in a row. UCLA was the also the top-ranked women's team during the 2001 indoor collegiate campaign, winning the NCAA Indoor title for the second consecutive season.

For the last two weeks, the UCLA men have not been ranked in the Trackwire National Top 25 (TCU is the top rated men's team with 45 points, ahead of LSU 43, Stanford 42, Tennessee 40 and Florida 34), but the Bruin men are still rated as one of the top dual meet teams in the U. S. In this week's IAAF/USATF Team Power Rankings, the UCLA men are No. 3 (360.73) in the U. S., still ahead of No 4 USC (359.66). even though the Trojan men beat UCLA last Saturday in the annual dual meet, 82-81. The USC victory snapped UCLA's 22-meet winning streak in the series. Texas (369.29) leads the men's rankings, followed by Tennessee (365.43), UCLA, USC and Texas A&M (354.37).

In the women's Team Power Rankings, the Bruin women remain No. 1, with 400.82 points and USC is No. 2, with 379.02. The Top Five women's squads are UCLA, USC, North Carolina (378.03), Arizona State (371.71) and BYU (368.16).

Trackwire is based upon predictions as to how teams will score at the upcoming NCAA Outdoor Championships. Team Power Rankings are computer based on a team's individual marks and dual meet strength.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Jan 16
vs. Lumberjack Team ...
Flagstaff, AZ
Recap
Friday, Jan 22
vs. DeLoss Dodds ...
Manhattan, KS
Recap
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. DeLoss Dodds ...
Manhattan, KS
Recap
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Razorback ...
Fayetteville, AR
Recap
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Razorback ...
Fayetteville, AR
Recap
Friday, Feb 05
vs. Frank Sevigne Husker ...
Lincoln, NE
Recap
Saturday, Feb 06
vs. Frank Sevigne Husker ...
Lincoln, NE
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Husky Classic
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Feb 13 - All Day PST
vs. Husky Classic
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. Alex Wilson ...
Notre Dame, IN
Friday, Feb 26 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Mar 05 - All Day PST
vs. Ben Brown ...
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Saturday, Mar 12 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Jim Bush Collegiate ...
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Rafer Johnson/Jackie ...
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 14 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas A&M
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Sunday, May 01 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. Occidental ...
Eagle Rock, CA
Sunday, May 08 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS