Arizona Gets Past UCLA, 4-3

April 13, 2006

Box Score

Tucson, Ariz. - Arizona scored three runs in the bottom of the seventh inning that proved to be the difference maker in a 4-3 win over UCLA on Thursday night at Kindall Field. The loss drops UCLA to 18-15 overall and 3-4 in the Pac-10 while Arizona improves to 15-16 and 3-4 in Pac-10 play.

Freshman Brandon Crawford led the Bruins with a 3-for-5 performance at the plate with a home run and two runs scored. Senior Josh Roenicke went 2-for-2 with a run scored and freshman Tim Murphy went 2-for-4 with a double in his first game back since injuring his wrist on Feb. 14.

Junior Hector Ambriz went 6.0 solid innings allowing one run on eight hits with four strikeouts in the no decision.

UCLA jumped out to an early 1-0 lead over Arizona in the first inning as Crawford led off the game with a solo home run to right field, his fourth jack of the season.

The Bruins had a prime opportunity for more runs in the first with the bases loaded and no outs. Murphy followed Crawford's blast with a double to left center, and senior Chris Jensen walked to put runners at first and second. Ambriz then reached on a fielder's choice as Arizona first baseman Brad Glenn threw the ball off Jensen's back trying to turn a double play to load the bases with no outs. UCLA would not capitalize as senior Sean Smith fouled out to first base and senior Brett McMillan grounded into a 3-6-1 double play to end the inning.

Arizona tied the game at 1-1 in the second inning on a RBI single to center field with two outs by Derek Decater to score Konrad Schmidt from second base after he hit a two-out double down the right field line.

UCLA broke the tie in the fifth inning on a RBI single through the right side by Ambriz to score Crawford with one out. Murphy tried to score on the play but hesitated while rounding third base and was thrown out at home.

The Bruins turned their third double play of the game in the fifth inning on a spectacular diving stop by Smith with a glove flip to Crawford for a 4-6-3 double dip to end the inning.

Arizona put up three runs in the seventh inning to go up 4-2. Junior Paul Oseguera (2-1) entered the game in relief of Ambriz and issued back-to-back walks to Derek Decater and Brad Boyer to open the inning. Colt Sedbrook laid down a sacrifice bunt down the third base line to advance the runners. Jon Gaston then singled to center field to score Decater from third, as an off throw by Roenicke to home allowed Boyer to score and give the Wildcats a 3-2 lead. Jason Donald added a RBI double to pick up Gaston and put UA up 4-2.

The Bruins came close to tying the game in the ninth inning, as Roenicke led off the inning with a walk. With two outs, junior Tim Stewart laced a RBI double to right center to score Roenicke from first and cut the UA lead to 4-3. Jensen would then ground out to second base with Stewart in scoring position to end the game.

UCLA and Arizona will play game two of the three game series on Friday, April 14 at 6 p.m.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Alumni Game
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Feb 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 1:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. NC Dinos
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 08 - 2:00 PM PST
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 18 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Mar 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Saturday, Mar 26 - 1:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 1:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Tuesday, Apr 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 07 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 12 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Tuesday, Apr 19 - 3:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 26 - 7:30 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Tuesday, May 03 - 6:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, May 08 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, May 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS