Enter To Win Tickets - UCLA vs. Kentucky MBB
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Jason Kapono Named Pac-10 co-Freshman of the Year
By: UCLA Athletics

March 12, 2000

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- In a vote of the 10 Conference coaches, UCLA forward Jason Kapono has been named Pac-10 co-Freshman of the Year, along with Stanford's Casey Jacobsen. He is the second Bruin to be selected in the last three years (Baron Davis was the 1997-98 Pac-10 Freshman of the Year).

In addition, Kapono was also selected to the 10-man All-Pac-10 team. Sophomore forward/center Jerome Moiso was an honorable mention selection.

Kapono led the Bruins in scoring with a 16.4 average, the second-highest by a freshman in school history. In the regular season, he ranked third in the Pac-10 in scoring, first in three-point field goal percentage (47.7) and sixth in field goal percentage. His 74 three-point field goals set Pac-10 and UCLA freshman records and he ranks No. 2 in UCLA single-season history behind Tracy Murray's 78 in 1992.

The complete Conference honors:


NameSchoolPosYrHtWtHometown (Last School)
Jason GardnerARIZGFr.5-10178Indianapolis, Ind. (North Central HS)
Eddie HouseASUGSr.6-1180Union City, Calif. (Hayward HS)
Casey JacobsenSTANFFr.6-6210Glendora, Calif. (Glendora HS)
Jason KaponoUCLAFFr.6-7199Lakewood, Calif. (Artesia HS)
Sean LampleyCALFJr.6-7225Chicago, Ill. (St. Francis DeSales HS)
Mark MadsenSTANFSr.6-9240Danville, Calif. (San Ramon Valley HS)
Brian ScalabrineUSCFJr.6-9250Enumclaw, Wash. (Highline C.C.)
Alex ScalesOREGSr.6-4185Racine, Wis. (San Jacinto (Texas) C.C.)
Loren WoodsARIZCJr.7-1251St. Louis, Mo. (Wake Forest)
Michael WrightARIZFSo.6-7238Chicago, Ill. (Farragut Academy)

Honorable Mention (also receiving votes): Gilbert Arenas (ARIZ, Fr., G), David Bluthenthal (USC, So., F), Jarron Collins (STAN, Jr., F), Brandon Granville (USC, So., G), Deon Luton (WASH, Sr., G), Jerome Moiso (UCLA, So., F), David Moseley (STAN, Sr., G), A.D. Smith (ORE, Sr., F), Deaundra Tanner (OSU, Jr., G), Jeff Trepagnier (USC, Jr., G), Darius Wright (ORE, Sr., G).


NameSchoolPosHtWtHometown (High School)
Gilbert ArenasARIZG6-3191North Hollywood, Calif. (Grant HS)
Jason GardnerARIZG5-10178Indianapolis, Ind. (North Central HS)
Brian JacksonOSUF6-9240Knappa, Ore. (Knappa HS)
Casey JacobsenSTANF6-6210Glendora, Calif. (Glendora HS)
Jason KaponoUCLAF6-7199Lakewood, Calif. (Artesia HS)

Honorable Mention (also receiving votes): Jason Collins (STAN, C), Shantay Legans (CAL, G), Nick Vander Laan (CAL, C), Luke Walton (ARIZ, F).

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Eddie House, Arizona State
CO-FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Casey Jacobsen, Stanford, Jason Kapono, UCLA
COACH OF THE YEAR: Mike Montgomery, Stanford


1999-2000Eddie House, ASUCasey Jacobsen, STAN, Jason Kapono, UCLAMike Montgomery, STAN
1998-99Jason Terry, ARIZMichael Wright, ARIZMike Montgomery, STAN
1997-98Mike Bibby, ARIZBaron Davis, UCLALute Olson, ARIZ
1996-97Ed Gray, CALMike Bibby, ARIZBen Braun, CAL
1995-96Shareef Abdur-Rahim, CALShareef Abdur-Rahim, CALBob Bender, WASH
1994-95Ed O'Bannon, UCLA, Damon Stoudamire, ARIZTremaine Fowkles, CALJim Harrick, UCLA
1993-94Jason Kidd, CALBrevin Knight, STANLute Olson, ARIZ
1992-93Chris Mills, ARIZJason Kidd, CALLute Olson, ARIZ
1991-92Harold Miner, USCMark Pope, WASHGeorge Raveling, USC
1990-91Terrell Brandon, OREJamal Faulkner, ASUKelvin Sampson, WSU
1989-90Gary Payton, OSUHarold Miner, USCJim Anderson, OSU
1988-89Sean Elliott, ARIZDon MacLean, UCLALute Olson, ARIZ, Ralph Miller, OSU
1987-88Sean Elliott, ARIZMike Hayward, WASHLute Olson, ARIZ
1986-87Jose Ortiz, OSUGary Payton, OSUWalt Hazzard, UCLA
1985-86Chris Welp, WASHSean Elliott, ARIZ, Pooh Richardson, UCLALute Olson, WSU
1984-85Wayne Carlander, USCLeonard Taylor, CALStan Morrison, USC
1983-84A.C. Green, OSUChris Welp, WASHMarv Harshman, WASH
1982-83Kenny Fields, UCLADave Butler, CALGeorge Raveling, WSU
1981-82Lester Connor, OSUJohnny Rogers, STANMarv Harshman, WASH
1980-81Steve Johnson, OSUJohn Revelli, STANRalph Miller, OSU
1979-80Don Collins, WSUByron Scott, ASUNed Wulk, ASU
1978-79David Greenwood, UCLABryan Rison, WSUBob Boyd, USC
1977-78David Greenwood, UCLA--Gary Cunningham, UCLA
1976-77Marques Johnson, UCLA--Dick Harter, ORE
1975-76Ron Lee, ORE, George Raveling, WSU--Dick DiBiaso, STAN

* Rookie of the Year from 1978-79 to 1982-83

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Oct 30
vs. Cal State Los ...
Los Angeles, CA
W, 95 - 57
Friday, Nov 13
vs. Monmouth
Los Angeles, CA
L, 81 - 84 (OT)
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
L, 77 - 80
Sunday, Nov 29
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 77 - 45
Thursday, Dec 03 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 12 - 7:00 PM PST
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
Tuesday, Dec 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 19 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
Tuesday, Dec 22 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 01 - 8:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Jan 03 - 6:30 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 09 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 13 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 8:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Saturday, Jan 23 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Thursday, Jan 28 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 30 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 04 - 7:30 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 12 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA