Baseball Hits The Road, Heads to #4 Arizona State

April 16, 2003

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

This Week:
April 17, vs. Arizona State, 7:00 p.m., Packard Stadium*
LHP Mike Kunes (4-1) vs. LHP Erik Averill (7-0)
April 18, vs. Arizona State, 7:00 p.m., Packard Stadium*
LHP Wes Whisler (3-5) vs. RHP Robbie McClellan (5-0)
Tape Delayed Broadcast on Fox Sports Net
April 19, vs. Arizona State, 1:00 p.m., Packard Stadium*
RHP Casey Janssen (3-4) vs. RHP Ben Thurmond (3-0)

Tentative Lineup
1B Wes Whisler (6-5, 227, L/L, So.) Leads UCLA with 48 hits.
2B Preston Griffin (5-11, 184, R/R, Jr.) Set new career-high w/6 RBI vs. UCR.
SS Ryan McCarthy (6-3, 180, R/R, So.) Hit two doubles vs. Wichita St. (3/22)
3B Brandon Averill (6-4, 200, R/R, Jr.) .560 slugging % tops on team.
LF Sean Carpenter (6-0, 165, R/R, Fr.) Career-high 4 RBI vs. Wichita St. (3/23)
CF Matt Thayer (5-10, 173, R/L, So.) Team-high eight stolen bases.
RF Billy Susdorf (6-1, 200, R/R, So.) Tied for team-lead with six homers.
C Chris Denove (6-1, 195, R/R, Fr.) Homered twice last week.
DH Brett McMillan (6-5, 210, L/R, Fr.) Leads team with .367 batting avg.
P Mike Kunes (6-2 1/2, 215, L/L, Sr.) Tied for team-lead with four wins.
P Wes Whisler (6-5, 227, L/L, So.) 50.0 innings of work is tops on team.
P Casey Janssen (6-3, 185, R/R, Jr.) Tied for team-high 44 strikeouts.

Bruin Baseball On The Air:
UCLA's Pacific-10 conference games will be live internet broadcast at www.uclabruins.com. Tony Luftman will bring you the action along with guest color commentators, including Craig Duncan and former Bruin pitcher Tim Leary.

Seven-Run First Inning Leads to 13-2 Bruin Loss at #2 Cal State Fullerton:
Starter Daniel Miltenberger allowed seven runs without recording an out in the first inning in the Bruins' 13-2 loss at Fullerton on Tuesday night.

The Bruins used a total of 24 players (18 position players and six pitchers) in the contest. Brett McMillan, Wes Whisler and Warren Trott led the Bruin attack with two hits each, while McMillan scored both UCLA runs. Relievers Garett White and Chris Cordeiro proved to be the most effective against the Titan arsenal, both allowed one hit in two innings of action.

Bruins Suffer A Sweep at USC:
For the first time this season, UCLA suffered a weekend series sweep at USC.

After building a 6-2 lead on Friday night, the Bruins fell 7-6 when USC scored its winning run in the bottom of the ninth inning. Chris Denove and Preston Griffin led UCLA with two hit apiece.

In Saturday's contest, the Trojans scored in each of the first five frames to build a 7-0 lead that was too tough to overcome. Reserves Chris Jensen and Warren Trott highlighted the Bruin attack recording two hits each after entering the game in the fourth inning.

UCLA started hot on Sunday posting a run in each of the first three innings and two in the fourth. However, the powerful Trojan bats hit three home runs to drive in five of its eight runs to take the final game of the series. Denove and Jensen both homered for the Bruins, while Griffin and Brett McMillan each had three hits in the contest.

About Arizona State...
The Sun Devils enter the week with a 38-7 record, 6-3 in Pac-10 play after sweeping California last weekend. Arizona State is ranked in the top ten in every poll, including ranked fourth by Sports Weekly/ESPN.

Head Coach Pat Murphy is in his eighth year as the head coach of the Sun Devils, with a 306-164-1 mark heading into the season. ASU leads UCLA with a 93-55 mark overall. Last season, the Sun Devils took two out of three from UCLA

Top Players
Dustin Pedroia (So., INF) .418, 3 HR, 34 RBI - Woodland, CA (Woodland HS)
Jeff Larish (So., INF) .378, 13 HR, 67 RBI - Tempe, AZ (McClintock HS)
Travis Buck (Fr., OF) .380, 2 HR, 35 RBI - Richland, WA (Richland HS)
Steve Garrabrants (So., INF) .347, 17 SB, 44 RBI - Phoeniz, AZ (Moon Valley HS)

Starting Pitchers
Erik Averill (Fr., LHP) 2.75 ERA, 7-0 - Orange, CA (Villa Park HS)
Robbie McClellan (Sr., LHP) 3.79 ERA, 5-0 - Liberal, KS (Seward County CC)
Ben Thurmond (Sr., RHP) 2.91 ERA, 3-0 - Hopkins, SC (Winthrop)


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Alumni Game
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 19
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 4
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 14
Tuesday, Feb 23
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 10
Friday, Feb 26
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 7 - 6
Saturday, Feb 27
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 19 - 0
Sunday, Feb 28
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
L, 2 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 01
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
L, 6 - 11
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 3 (14)
Tuesday, Mar 08
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
L, 12 - 20
Friday, Mar 11
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 7
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Mar 18
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5 (12)
Sunday, Mar 20
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 11 - 2
Thursday, Mar 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Mar 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Mar 26
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 5 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 29
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
L, 7 - 14
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Tuesday, May 03 - 6:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, May 08 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, May 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 14 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, May 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS