UCLA Freshman Ryan Hollins Selected for USA Basketball Men's National Team Trials

May 15, 2003

UCLA two-sport standout Ryan Hollins, who last season as a true freshman started the Bruins' final 14 games at center, is one of the 51 top players from the nation's college and high school ranks to be selected for the 2003 USA Basketball Men's National Team Trials.

The USA Trials are scheduled to be held May 30-June 1 at the U. S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, CO and are being used to select finalists for the 2003 USA Junior World Championship Team and the 2003 Pan American Games Team. Of the 51 players, 27, because they are older than 19-years-old, will be eligible only for consideration for the Pan Am Games team. The other 24 players will be eligible for either the Pan American Games or Junior World Championship teams. To be eligible for the USA Junior World Championship squad a player must be 19-years-old or younger (Hollins is 18, born 10/10/84). On June 1, USA Basketball will officially announce the selected finalists for each USA team.

In 2002-03, Hollins, a 6-11, 215-pounder from Pasadena Muir HS, appeared in 24 games for the Bruins (started 15) and averaged 16.7 minutes a contest. He was the team's No. 7 scorer (4.3), No. 6 rebounder (3.5) and was second on the team in blocked shots, averaging almost one a game. Hollins shot 59.4 (38-64) from the field (No. 2 on the team). His season-highs included 14 points at Georgetown (2/8), 11 rebounds vs. Oregon (1/30) and seven blocked shots vs. Oregon (1/30). He earned Pac-10 Honorable Mention All-Freshman honors.

Hollins is currently a jumper on the Bruin men's track & field team and will compete this weekend in the 2003 Pacific-10 Championships, hosted by USC. He has personal-bests this season in the high jump (7-0.25, NCAA West Regional qualifier), long jump (22-3) and triple jump (48-5.50).

Following the Pac-10 Championships, the NCAA West Regional Qualifying meet will be May 30-31 at Stanford. Because of the conflicting dates between the USA Basketball Trials and the NCAA West Regional T & F meet (the men's high jump will he held Friday, May 30 at 5:50 p.m.), details are trying to be worked out so Hollins can compete in both sports (at the two different sites).


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Nov 13
vs. Monmouth
Los Angeles, CA
L, 81 - 84 (OT)
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
L, 77 - 80
Sunday, Nov 29
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 77 - 45
Thursday, Dec 03
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
W, 87 - 77
Sunday, Dec 06
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 83 - 76
Saturday, Dec 12
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
W, 71 - 66
Tuesday, Dec 15
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
W, 89 - 80
Saturday, Dec 19
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
L, 76 - 89
Tuesday, Dec 22
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 67 - 53
Friday, Jan 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 93 - 96 (2OT)
Sunday, Jan 03
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 78 - 85
Thursday, Jan 07
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 87 - 84
Saturday, Jan 09
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 74
Wednesday, Jan 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 75 - 89
Wednesday, Jan 20
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
W, 82 - 73
Saturday, Jan 23
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 72 - 86
Thursday, Jan 28
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 84 - 86
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 83 - 50
Thursday, Feb 04
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 61 - 80
Friday, Feb 12 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Mar 09 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Thursday, Mar 10 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 11 - 8:30 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Saturday, Mar 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Tuesday, Mar 15 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA First Four
Dayton, OH
Thursday, Mar 17 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Saturday, Mar 19 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
Thursday, Mar 24 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
TBA
Saturday, Mar 26 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
TBA
Saturday, Apr 02 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Houston, TX
Monday, Apr 04 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Houston, TX
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS