No. 11 Women's Track & Field Team Picks Up Three NCAA Qualifiers at Husky Indoor

Jan. 28, 2006

Complete Results

The No. 11 UCLA women's track and field team had a solid opening to the indoor season as the Bruins picked up three NCAA qualifying marks from senior Chelsea Johnson, junior Kamaiya Warren and the DMR team at the Husky Invitational in Seattle, WA.

Johnson won the pole vault with a provisional mark of 13-3.25, winning by over a foot on the nearest competitor. Warren, competing in the shot put, threw a provisional qualifier of 53-0 to finish third overall. On Friday night, the Distance Medley relay team of junior Jenna Timinsky, junior Ashley Caldwell, sophomore Shantae McKinney and freshman Nicole Leach placed third overall in a provisional time of 11:23.05.

The 4x400m relay team of Leach, freshman Krystin Lacy, junior MacKenzie Hill and freshman Chanelle Curry won the event in a time of 3:43.53.

Former Bruin Cari Soong won the weight throw competition with a toss of 64-6.50, a throw nearly four feet past the runner-up. Jessica Cosby, another former Bruin, placed second in the shot put with a throw of 55-4.75.

Lacy ran a fast prelim time of 7.65 in the 60m, but ended up 11th overall. Curry placed ninth in the 200m in a time of 25.73. Caldwell placed eighth in the 1500m running 4:49.35, just two seconds off the provisional qualifying mark for Nationals. Hill, competing in the 60m hurdles, ran 8.74 in the prelims and finished seventh overall in a time of 8.93.

On Friday, three Bruins competed in the heptathlon - sophomores Allison Miller, Ingrid Kantola and Georgea Richards. Miller placed seventh with a total of 3,497 points, while Richards was 13th (3,388 pts.) and Kantola was 20th (2,875 pts.).

The Bruins will continue the indoor season next weekend as they head to Boise, ID and the United Heritage Invitational.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Mar 11
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Recap
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Recap
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. Jim Bush Collegiate ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Friday, Apr 01
vs. The Legends Distance ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Rafer Johnson/Jackie ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Texas A&M
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Olympic Training ...
Chula Vista, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Recap
Sunday, May 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, May 07
vs. Occidental ...
Eagle Rock, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
-
Sunday, May 08
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Recap
Saturday, May 14
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Sunday, May 15
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Thursday, May 26
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Suspended
Friday, May 27
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Recap
Saturday, May 28
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Recap
Wednesday, Jun 08 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Thursday, Jun 09 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Friday, Jun 10 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Saturday, Jun 11 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS