Don't have an account? Click Here
UCLA Basketball Facility

UCLA's Jason Kapono Finalist For Naismith Award
Courtesy: UCLA Athletics  
Release:  02/11/2002

Feb. 11, 2002

ATLANTA - Jackie Bradford, Executive Director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club, announced today the twenty collegiate men finalists, including UCLA junior Jason Kapono, for the Naismith College Basketball Player of the Year Award.

The Naismith Board of Selectors, which includes some the country's leading basketball coaches, journalists and administrators, began the selection process earlier this year and have reduced the number of finalist by balloting to the twenty top male and female players they felt most deserving of the award.

The winner of the Naismith Award, the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball, will be honored in Atlanta on Friday, April 5, 2002.

The finalists for the Naismith College Player of the Year Award (listed alphabetically) are as follows:

Lonny Baxter, Maryland
Troy Bell, Boston College
Carlos Boozer, Duke
Caron Butler, Connecticut
Sam Clancy, USC
Nick Collison, Kansas
Dan Dickau, Gonzaga
Juan Dixon, Maryland
Jason Gardner, Arizona
Drew Gooden, Kansas
Casey Jacobsen, Stanford
Jared Jeffries, Indiana
Jason Kapono, UCLA
Steve Logan, Cincinnati
Tayshaun Prince, Kentucky
Kareem Rush, Missouri
Frank Williams, Illinois
Jason Williams, Duke
David West, Xavier

The Naismith Awards program, now in its 34th year, honors the outstanding college basketball players in the United States. The awards program was founded by the Atlanta Tipoff Club, an organization dedicated to recognizing the achievements of excellence in basketball for student athletes. Please visit our web page at for more information on the Naismith Awards and past winners.

‹ UCLA Men's Basketball

*UCLA 2015 #1 Football Jersey - Blue 
Price: $65.00
UCLA Football Poster Signed By Eric Kendricks Current: $200