Cari Soong Wins Hammer Throw in UCLA/USC Dual Meet

April 30, 2004

UCLA swept the 1st annual David E. Nuttall UCLA/USC hammer throw competition on Day One of the Bruin/Trojan women and men's track & field dual meets held at UCLA's Drake Stadium. UCLA senior Cari Soong won the women's event and Bruin senior Dan Ames took top honors in the men's hammer on his final throw. The hammer throw was the only event held on Friday.

Women
UCLA senior Cari Soong, No. 1 (209-2) on this week's Pac-10 chart, won the women's hammer throw, with a mark of 203-1. In second-place was USC's L'Orangerie Crawford (200-4), followed by USC's Julia Rozenfeld (194-4) and in fourth-place was Bruin junior Jessica Cosby (189-3).

In team scoring going into Saturday's competition, the Bruins lead with five points, followed by USC's four points.

Friday's hammer throw event honored David E. Nuttall, a hammer throw enthusiast who died on March 24 at the age of 62. Nuttall earned an M. A. (1974) and Ph. D. (1977) in physics from USC. After retiring from the aerospace industry, he became actively involved in collegiate track & field offering encouragement and support to the young women and men in the sport.

Saturday/May 1
At Drake Stadium, the UCLA/USC women and men's dual meets will continue, with field events starting at 11:30 a.m. and track events at 12:35 p.m. The two dual meets will be scored traditionally (5-3-1 individual events/5-0 relays). Ticket prices are $6 (adults) and $4 (students). Fox Sports West 2 will televise the dual meets on Saturday, May 8 at 8 p.m.

UCLA/USC Hammer Throw/Drake Stadium/Friday, April 30
Women

1. Cari Soong, UCLA, 203-1 (61.91), 2. L'Orangerie Crawford, USC, 200-4 (61.06), 3. Julia Rozenfeld, USC, 194-4 (59.24), 4. Jessica Cosby, UCLA, 189-3 (57.69).


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Friday, Apr 01
vs. The Legends Distance ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Rafer Johnson/Jackie ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Texas A&M
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Olympic Training ...
Chula Vista, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Recap
Sunday, May 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, May 07
vs. Occidental ...
Eagle Rock, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
-
Sunday, May 08
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Recap
Saturday, May 14
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Sunday, May 15
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Thursday, May 26
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Suspended
Friday, May 27
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Recap
Saturday, May 28
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Recap
Wednesday, Jun 08
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
Thursday, Jun 09
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
Friday, Jun 10
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
-
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS