Mora Named to MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug. 12, 2004

LOS ANGELES -- UCLA junior forward Iris Mora is one of 25 players named to the preseason watch list for the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy. A committee of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, the official selection body, compiled the list for the MAC's Hermann Trophy.

Mora, from Cancun, Mexico, is coming off a record-setting sophomore campaign in 2003. She set the UCLA single-season record for assists with 14, leading the Pac-10 in goals (13), assists, points (40) and game-winning goals (6). She was named a first-team NSCAA/adidas All-American, as well as a first-team All-Pac-10 selection.

The 25 players are considered to be among the top players entering the 2004 college season and are the ones to watch for outstanding play this fall. A list of 15 semifinalists will be announced in November, with three finalists selected in early December. The winner will be announced at a dinner at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, Mo., on Jan. 8, 2005.

Women's 2004 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List
Player, Position, Class, School, Hometown
Leisha Alcia, G, Sr.:, Illinois, Mississauga, Ont., Canada
Nicole Barnhart, G, Sr., Stanford, Gilbertsville, Pa.
Lori Chalupny, M, Jr., North Carolina, St. Louis, Mo.
Candace Chapman, D, Sr., Notre Dame, Ajax, Ont., Canada
Keeley Dowling , D, Sr., Tennessee, Carmel, Ind.
Stephanie Freeman, M, Sr., Florida, Clearwater, Fla.
Leah Gallegos, F, Jr., Florida State, Los Angeles, Calif.
Kristin Graczyk, F, Sr., Connecticut, Albuquerque, N.M.
Kelly Hammond, M, Jr., Virginia, Bowie, Md.
Lindsey Huie , M, Jr., Portland, Mission Viejo, Calif.
Natasha Kai, F, Sr., Hawaii, Kahuku, Hawaii
Carli Lloyd, M, Sr., Rutgers, Delran, N.J.
Kelly McDonald, F, Sr., Texas, Littleton, Colo.
Iris Mora, F, Jr., UCLA, Cancun, Mexico
Heather O'Reilly, F, So., North Carolina, East Brunswick, N.J.
Leslie Osborne, M, Sr., Santa Clara, Menomonee Falls, Wis.
Becky Sauerbrunn, D, So., Virginia, St. Louis, Mo.
Christine Sinclair, F, Sr., Portland, Burnaby, B.C., Canada
Julianne Sitch, M, Jr., DePaul, Oswego, Ill.
Caroline Smith, F, Jr., Kansas, Edina, Minn.
Kati Jo Spisak, G, Jr., Texas A&M, Manchester, Mo.
Melissa Tancredi, D, Sr., Notre Dame, Ancaster, Ont., Canada
Lindsay Tarpley, F, Jr., North Carolina, Kalamazoo, Mich.
Tiffany Weimer , F, Jr., Penn State, North Haven, Conn.
Kelly Wilson, F, Jr., Texas, Odessa, Texas

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Friday, Sep 04
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Sep 06
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Sep 11
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 13
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
L, 1 - 3
Thursday, Sep 17
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 25
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Oct 09
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Sunday, Oct 11
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
T, 1 - 1 (2OT)
Saturday, Oct 17
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Oct 23
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Oct 25
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 29
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 0 - 7
Sunday, Nov 01
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
L, 0 - 2
Friday, Nov 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 2