Bruins Miss NCAA Berth by Three Shots

May 18, 2002

The UCLA men's golf team tied for 13th place at the NCAA West Regionals, missing an NCAA berth by three shots at the University of New Mexico's Championship Course.

Sophomore John Merrick, however, tied for eighth place and advanced as an individual to the NCAA Men's Golf Championships at Ohio State's Scarlet Course, May 29-June 1.

Merrick posted a final round score of 72 and finished at even par 216 and will be joined at the national championship tournament by San Diego State's Mark Warman.

The Bruins, tied for sixth place with four teams entering the final round, posted a team score Saturday of 297, nine-over par, and finished at 885, 21-over par. Host New Mexico fired a four-under par score of 284 in the final round to claim a share of first place with Washington at 872, eight-over par. Nevada Las Vegas finished third at 874, followed by Big 10 champion Minnesota at 875 and West Coast Conference Pepperdine at 877.

Other individual scores for UCLA were as follows. Sophomore Roy Moon tied for 16th at two-over par 218 after posting a final round score of 72. Freshman John Poucher tied for 51st at 223 after a 74 on Saturday and senior Parker McLachlin ended his UCLA career at 12-over par 228 in a tie for 90th place. Freshman Breene Murphy was 24-over par for the tournament and finished 133rd.

Arizona's Ricky Barnes and Minnesota's Justin Smith tied for first place at six-under par 210, followed by Fresno State's Nick Watney in third at 214.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Thursday, Feb 04
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Friday, Feb 05
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Saturday, Feb 06
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
2nd (-27, 837)
Friday, Feb 26 - All Day PST
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Saturday, Feb 27 - All Day PST
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Sunday, Feb 28 - All Day PST
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Monday, Mar 07 - All Day PST
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Tuesday, Mar 08 - All Day PST
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Wednesday, Mar 09 - All Day PST
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Thursday, Mar 24 - All Day PST
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - All Day PST
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - All Day PST
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Monday, Apr 11 - All Day PST
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Tuesday, Apr 12 - All Day PST
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Wednesday, Apr 13 - All Day PST
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS