Three Bruins Named Among Top-50 Freshmen For 2006

Jan. 17, 2006

Los Angeles - UCLA freshmen Brandon Crawford, Ryan Babineau and Tim Murphy have been named among the top-50 freshmen collegiate baseball players for the 2006 season by Baseball America. The three players are part of UCLA's 2006 recruiting class that was selected fifth in the nation by the publication last year.

Crawford, a 6-2 infielder from Pleasanton, Calif., was tabbed the No. 24 freshman in the nation by Baseball America. Crawford was a three-year letterwinner at Foothill HS, and was listed by the San Francisco Chronicle as the sixth-best high school prospect in Northern California. He was also rated the 200th overall top prospect (College and High School) in the 2005 MLB draft by Baseball America. Crawford batted a combined .357 with 23 doubles, five triples, nine home runs, with 51 RBI in a three-year varsity career.

Babineau is a 6-2 catcher from Rancho Cucamonga, Calif., and was selected as the No. 29 freshman in the nation by the publication. Babineau was a four-year letterwinner at Etiwanda HS, and was drafted by the Milwaukee Brewers in the 13th round of the 2005 MLB Draft. He was named a high school All-American and National Defensive Player of the Year, and hit .412 with five home runs and a .706 slugging percentage as a senior. Babineau also set school records for games played, at-bats, home runs, doubles, and the single-season school record for batting average (.436).

Murphy, a 6-2 outfielder and left-handed pitcher from Vista, Calif., was selected as the No. 39 freshman in the nation. Murphy was drafted in the 11th round by the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim in the 2005 MLB Draft out of Rancho Buena Vista HS. The three-year letterwinner was a three-time All-Avocado League selection, and an All-CIF San Diego Section honoree. As a senior, Murphy hit .443 with five home runs and 25 stolen bases.

UCLA will open the 2006 season on Friday, Feb. 3 at 6 p.m. against Fresno State at Jackie Robinson Stadium.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Tuesday, Mar 29
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
L, 7 - 14
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 10 - 3
Tuesday, May 03
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
W, 11 - 10
Friday, May 06
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, May 07
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, May 08
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Tuesday, May 10
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, May 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 5
Saturday, May 14
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3
Sunday, May 15
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9
Tuesday, May 17
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, May 20
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 12
Saturday, May 21
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 10
Friday, May 27
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 1
Saturday, May 28
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 3
Sunday, May 29
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 6
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS