Three Bruins Named to All-Pac-10 Teams

May 5, 2004

LOS ANGELES - For the third year in a row, UCLA men's tennis player Tobias Clemens was named a first-team All-Pac-10 selection, leading a list of three Bruins named to All-Pac-10 teams Wednesday. UCLA's Alberto Francis and Kris Kwinta were named Pac-10 Co-Doubles Team of the Year.

Clemens, a senior from Bonn, Germany, is currently ranked No. 7 in the nation with a 32-8 overall singles record. He has posted a 15-7 mark at the No. 1 singles position, playing in the top spot in every dual match this season. His 118 career singles victories rank No. 1 all-time at UCLA.

In addition to Clemens, UCLA's Chris Lam (2nd Team) and Luben Pampoulov earned All-Pac-10 honors Wednesday. It is the second such honor for Lam, a junior from Honololu, after being named an All-Pac-10 Honorable Mention selection a year ago. He is currently ranked No. 60 in the nation with a 31-14 overall record, reaching the main draw semifinals at the Pac-10 Championships two weeks ago. Pampoulov, a newcomer from Dornbirn, Austria, earned honorable mention honors despite playing in just six dual matches. He is ranked No. 67 nationally, anchoring the Bruins' No. 2 singles position. Pampoulov and teammate Philipp Gruendler captured the Pac-10 doubles title back on April 25.

Although Francis (McAllen, TX) and Kwinta (Poznan, Poland) didn't capture this year's Pac-10 title, they have been the most consistent team in the Pac-10 all season. The duo owns a 30-10 overall record, including a 16-7 mark in dual-match play. They are currently ranked No. 7 in the nation. Cal's Patrick Briaud and Balazs Veress were also named Co-Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year.

Men's First Team
Adriano Biasella, USC
Tobias Clemens, UCLA
Alex Slovic, WASH
Sven Swinnen, ORE
Alex Vlaski, WASH
Sam Warburg, STAN

Men's Second Team KC Corkery, STAN Manuel Kost, ORE Chris Lam, UCLA Roger Matalonga, ARIZ Balazs Veress, CAL Wayne Wong, CAL

Honorable Mention Jamil Al-Agba, USC Johan Berg, USC Luben Pampoulov, UCLA Chris Stewart, ASU James Wan, STAN

Men's Player of the Year Sam Warburg, STAN

Men's Co-Doubles Team of the Year Balazs Veress/Patrick Briaud, CAL Alberto Francis/Kris Kwinta, UCLA

Men's Co-Freshman of the Year Alex Slovic, WASH James Wan, STAN

Men's Coach of the Year Peter Smith, USC


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Bruin Racqueteer Day
Los Angeles, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. NCTC Tournament
Palm Springs, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Sherwood Collegiate ...
Thousand Oaks, CA
-
Wednesday, Jan 20
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Maui, HI
-
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. SMU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Georgia Tech
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Dallas, TX
-
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
LIVE NOW
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Feb 09 - 3:00 PM PST
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
Friday, Feb 12 - All Day PST
vs. USTA/ITA National ...
Charlottesville, VA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 03 - All Day PST
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
Thursday, Mar 10 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 1:00 PM PST
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Mar 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Friday, Apr 01 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 10 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS