TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Bruins Performing Well in National and Local Tournaments
By: UCLA Athletics

July 2, 2002

Several UCLA women's golfers have performed well in national and local tournaments over the past few weeks.

At the U.S. Women's Amateur Publinks Championships in Sunriver, Oregon, sophomore Yvonne Choe, the 2002 Pacific-10 Conference Newcomer of the Year, advanced to the semifinals before falling to eventual champion Annie Thurman of Highland, UT.

Choe tied for 20th after the 36-hole medal play format, shooting seven-over par 150 (77-73).

In the match play draw, she defeated Ellyn Leonard of Zionsville, IL, 2-up before beating Karyn Stoudahl of Prior Lake, MN, 2 and 1, in the second round. In the third round on June 21, she defeated Laura Crawford of Lancaster, SC, 6 and 4. In the afternoon quarterfinals, she beat Kim Rowton of San Antonio, TX, 2 and 1. Choe lost 2 and 1 in the semifinals to Thurman on June 22.

At the Long Beach Women's City Championships , which concluded June 29 at Recreation Park Golf Course, three UCLA players finished among the top 12 individuals. Senior Vivan Phosomran finished fourth at 221, followed by junior Krystal Shearer who tied for ninth at 233. Sophomore Saki Uechi placed 11th at 235.

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Monday, Feb 29
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
1st (+4, 868)
Monday, Mar 21
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Wednesday, Mar 23
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
3rd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
1st (-2, 286)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Story
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
2nd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 08
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
1st (-12, 852)
Monday, Apr 18
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 19
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 20
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
2nd (-15, 849)
Thursday, May 05
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Friday, May 06
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Saturday, May 07
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
3rd (+1, 865)
Friday, May 20
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Saturday, May 21
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Sunday, May 22
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Monday, May 23
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
1st (-8, 1,144)
Tuesday, May 24
vs. Oregon
Eugene, OR
Won 4-0-1
Tuesday, May 24
vs. Washington
Eugene, OR
Lost 3-1-1
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS