Bruin Men's Soccer Team Pounds St. Mary's, 5-1, In Pacific Soccer Classic

Oct. 26, 2001

Box Score
South Carolina vs. CS Fullerton Box Score

Los Angeles, Calif. - In Day One of the 16th Annual UCLA Pacific Soccer Classic, UCLA defeated St. Mary's, 5-1 behind the strength of two goals and an assist by Chadd Davis (Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif./Peninsula HS).

Davis, who was making just his third start of the season, started the scoring barrage early in the first half, taking a Tim Pierce (Dana Point, Calif./Santa Margarita HS) cross and firing it into the goal from the left side at the 15:58 mark. Davis and Pierce hooked up again in the 40th minute, with Davis collecting Pierce's pass and shooting it of the crossbar. The ball bounced down and just barely inside the goal line to give Davis his first career multiple-goal game. Davis wasn't finished, however. Just three minutes later, the junior midfielder assisted on Matt Taylor's (Irvine, Calif./Irvine HS) third goal of the year, a shot from the left side into an empty net.

Just barely two minutes into the second half, the Bruins struck again. After St. Mary's goalkeeper Kellan Wilson received a yellow card, Adolfo Gregorio (Hilmar, Calif./Hilmar HS) launched a perfect free kick into the box that senior Brandon Kay (Simi Valley, Calif./Royal HS) headed in for his first career goal. UCLA added one more goal in the 62nd minute when Phillip Harr (Granite Bay, Calif./The Pendleton School) recorded his first career goal, with an assist going to Taylor. The Gaels scored a late goal at the 85:02 mark when Diego Rovira scored on a free kick through traffic.

Bruin starter Zach Wells (Costa Mesa, Calif./Newport Harbor HS) made three saves in 61 minutes of play, while reserve Stephen Gardner (Los Altos Hills, Calif./Los Altos HS) made three saves in 29 minutes. Gaels' keeper Kellan Wilson made five saves in 58 minutes, and McElhinney stopped five shots in 32 minutes.

Earlier in the afternoon, South Carolina and Cal State Fullerton played 79 minutes of scoreless ball until South Carolina's Jordan Quinn broke through with a header in the box at the 79:54 mark. Ryan Daley, who assisted on the first goal, added an insurance goal for the Gamecocks at the 86:02 mark, with an assist going to Kolby Runager.

South Carolina keeper Michael Bachmeyer earned the shutout, making two saves. Cal State Fullerton keeper Jeff McKeever made four saves.

UCLA (7-6-2) and South Carolina (9-3-1) will face off for the Pacific Soccer Classic title on Sunday, Oct. 28 at 2:00 pm. Day two of the tournament kicks off at 11:00 am with the third-place match between St. Mary's (5-6-1) and Cal State Fullerton (5-7-1).


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Tuesday, Aug 18
vs. Mexican U-17 ...
Los Angeles, CA
T, 1 - 1
Saturday, Aug 22
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. New Mexico
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 04 - 4:00 PM PST
at Maryland
College Park, MD
Monday, Sep 07 - 10:00 AM PST
at Georgetown
Washington, DC
Sunday, Sep 13 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. UC Riverside
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Sep 21 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 25 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. VCU
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 27 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 1:30 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Sunday, Oct 04 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Monday, Oct 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 16 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Oct 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 8:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 3:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 10:00 AM PST
at Akron
Akron, OH
Friday, Nov 06 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 08 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Nov 14 - 7:00 PM PST
at San Diego State
San Diego, CA
Thursday, Nov 19 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS