No. 4 Bruins Face No. 14 Duke This Wednesday

March 11, 2002

vs. (14) Duke

Wednesday, Mar. 13 - 1:30 p.m. Los Angeles Tennis Center

This Week . . .
The No. 4 UCLA men's tennis team will host No. 14 Duke at the Los Angeles Tennis Center this Wednesday beginning at 1:30 p.m. UCLA owns a 9-1 all-time record against Duke, having defeated the then-No. 9 Blue Devils, 4-1 at the National Team Indoors back on Feb. 9. The Bruins have won seven in a row and are coming off a 4-3 win over No. 3 USC last Thursday. Duke is coming off a 4-3 loss to Virginia Commonwealth on Mar. 6 and will take on UC Irvine on Mar. 11.

Bruins Win Pac-10 Opener, Avenge Only Loss of 2002 . . .
UCLA defeated No. 3 USC, 4-3 Thursday at the Marks Tennis Stadium on the campus of USC. With the victory, the Bruins won their seventh straight and avenged a 4-1 loss to the Trojans back on Feb. 8 at the National Team Indoors, UCLA's only loss on the season. On Thursday, Lassi Ketola clinched the match for UCLA, defeating USC's Daniel Langre, 5-7, 7-6, 6-3 at No. 5 singles to give UCLA the 4-3 decision. The match will be televised on a tape-delayed basis by Fox Sports Net2. It will air three times, beginning on Mar. 12 at 1:00 p.m. The other two times are Mar. 17 at 11:00 a.m. and Mar. 20 at 8:00 p.m. Leif Shiras and Tom Kelly called the action.

Bruins Riding Seven-Match Winning Streak . . .
Since UCLA's loss to USC back on Feb. 7, the Bruins have won seven in a row, starting with Duke back on Feb. 8. During the streak, the Bruins have registered three wins over top-10 opponents, including then-No. 9 Duke, 4-1 (2/8), current-No. 9 Pepperdine, 5-2 (2/27) and No. 3 USC, 4-3 (3/7).

Clemens on Fire . . .
The highest ranked Bruin at No. 13 in the nation, Tobias Clemens has played UCLA's last nine matches at the No. 1 position. He owns one of the best records on the team at 25-4 and is an impressive 8-1 at the top spot, with his only loss coming to Steven Capriati of Arizona on Feb. 23. Clemens owned an 18-match winning streak from Nov. 8 to Feb. 22. Last Thursday he continued his dominance over c

rosstown rival USC, defeating Trojan No. 1 Andrew Park for the fourth time this year.

Bruins in the Individual Rankings . . .

Singles
#13 - Tobias Clemens #23 - Rodrigo Grilli #24 - Marcin Matkowski #68 - Jean-Julien Rojer

Doubles
#2 - Matkowski/Rojer #18 - Clemens/Ketola #47 - Francis/Grilli

Bruins Move Up to No. 4 . . .
After being ranked No. 5 in the country for three-straight weeks, the Bruins the Bruins moved up one spot to No. 4 in the latest team rankings released on Mar. 6. UCLA will likely move up one spot again this week as a result of its defeat over No. 3 USC. The Bruins started the season at No. 3, however fell two spots to No. 5 after their loss to the Trojans back on Feb. 7. New team rankings will be released this Wednesday.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Bruin Racqueteer Day
Los Angeles, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. NCTC Tournament
Palm Springs, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Sherwood Collegiate ...
Thousand Oaks, CA
-
Wednesday, Jan 20
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Maui, HI
-
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. SMU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Georgia Tech
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Dallas, TX
-
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
LIVE NOW
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Feb 09 - 3:00 PM PST
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
Friday, Feb 12 - All Day PST
vs. USTA/ITA National ...
Charlottesville, VA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 03 - All Day PST
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
Thursday, Mar 10 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 1:00 PM PST
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Mar 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Friday, Apr 01 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 10 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS