Women's Golfers Prepare for Regional Challenge

Feb. 6, 2003

The 24th ranked UCLA women's golf team travels to the TRW Regional Challenge, hosted by Ohio State at the Palos Verdes Golf Club, Feb., 10-12.

Head Coach Carrie Leary, whose Bruins recorded four straight Top 10 finishes in the Fall, will field a team of three juniors and two sophomores. The 18-team field includes 14 nationally ranked teams, including No.1 Arizona, No.2 Oklahoma State and defending champion Tulsa, ranked 19th.

"This tournament contains the strongest field we will play against until the NCAA Regional," said Leary.

The top qualifier for the Bruins is sophomore Yvonne Choe, who tied for sixth place at the Kent Youel Invitational in Hawaii in November. Choe ranks third on the team in stroke average at 75.5. She leads the team in greens in regulation at 66 percent.

Junior Melissa Martin owns the team's second best stroke average at 75.0. Martin tied for 16th place at the Oregon State Invitational in her only appearance of the Fall schedule.

First-year junior Hana Kim entered UCLA in the Fall after lettering two seasons in golf at Northwestern. She tied for eighth at the Oregon State Invitational, her first appearance as a Bruin.

Sophomore Charlotte Mayorkas boasts a solid 75.8 scoring average after six rounds and two appearances in the Fall. She placed 12th at the Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational-her third career Top 20 finish.

Junior Krystal Shearer will be making her sixth collegiate appearance looking for her first Top 20 finish. Last season, 100 percent of her eligible competitive rounds counted in team scoring.

Finally, fourth-year junior Bridget Dwyer will be playing as an individual. Dwyer has six career appearances, 18 rounds of experience and tied for 12th at the 2000 SDSU Fall Classic. She also has played in the last two U.S. Women's Amateur tournaments.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Monday, Feb 29
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
1st (+4, 868)
Monday, Mar 21
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Wednesday, Mar 23
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
3rd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
1st (-2, 286)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Story
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
2nd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 08
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
1st (-12, 852)
Monday, Apr 18
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 19
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 20
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
2nd (-15, 849)
Thursday, May 05
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Friday, May 06
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Saturday, May 07
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
3rd (+1, 865)
Friday, May 20
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Saturday, May 21
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Sunday, May 22
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Monday, May 23
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
1st (-8, 1,144)
Tuesday, May 24
vs. Oregon
Eugene, OR
Won 4-0-1
Tuesday, May 24
vs. Washington
Eugene, OR
Lost 3-1-1
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS