Eight Bruins Advance to Sectional Qualifying in U.S. Women's Open

May 24, 2005

Eight former, current and future UCLA women's golfers advanced to Sectional Qualifying for the U.S. Women's Open, June 23-26 at Cherry Hills CC in Cherry Hills Village, CO.

On May 23, four players with UCLA affiliations qualified at Paradise Valley CC in Phoenix, AZ. Three-time All-American Charlotte Mayorkas tied for first in her first tournament as a professional, posting an even par 72. Also advancing from that site were Head Coach Carrie Forsyth (74), sophomore Hannah Jun (75) and former letterwinner Bridget Dwyer (78).

On May 18 at the PGA of Southern California GC in Beaumont, CA, Tiffany Joh, a member of UCLA's 2005 freshman class, posted a two-under par 70 to move on to the next stage of competition. Former All-American Kathy Choi Rogers advanced with a 73.

At Rolling Hills CC in Monroe, NC on May 16, former All-American LaRee Sugg qualified with a score of 75. Sugg now serves as the head coach at the University of Richmond.

At Horseshoe Bend CC in Roswell, GA on May 16, rookie LPGA Tour player and former UCLA letterwinner Hana Kim advanced with a score of 74.

Former players earning alternate spots were four-time All-Pac-10 performer Gina Umeck, who posted a score of 76 at the Beaumont site and former letterwinner Saki Uechi, who posted a 76 at the Almaden CC in San Jose, CA.

Jane Park, the Bruins' top recruit for 2005, earned an exemption into the U.S. Women's Open by winning the 2004 U.S. Women's Amateur last August.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Story
Monday, Feb 08
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Story
Tuesday, Feb 09
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
T-5th (+26, 878)
Sunday, Feb 21 - All Day PST
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Monday, Feb 22 - All Day PST
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Tuesday, Feb 23 - All Day PST
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Monday, Feb 29 - All Day PST
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - All Day PST
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
Monday, Mar 21 - All Day PST
vs. SDSU Farms ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - All Day PST
vs. SDSU Farms ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Wednesday, Mar 23 - All Day PST
vs. SDSU Farms ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - All Day PST
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Saturday, Apr 02 - All Day PST
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Sunday, Apr 03 - All Day PST
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Friday, Apr 08 - All Day PST
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Saturday, Apr 09 - All Day PST
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Apr 10 - All Day PST
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Monday, Apr 18 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Tuesday, Apr 19 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Thursday, May 05 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Friday, May 06 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS