UCLA To Participate In State Farm Women's Volleyball Classic

Feb. 20, 2000

WILMINGTON, N.C. -- The National Association of Collegiate Women Athletic Administrators is pleased to announce the selected host and teams for the Sixth Annual State Farm Women's Volleyball Classic. The 2000 State Farm Women's Volleyball Classic presented by NACWAA will be held on Friday and Saturday, August 25 and 26 at the University of Florida in Gainesville, FL. Joining Florida in the State Farm Women's Volleyball Classic will be the University of California-Los Angeles, Colorado State University and Pennsylvania State University -- the national defending champions.

NACWAA and State Farm Insurance Companies teamed up in 1995 to offer the first Volleyball Classic, which was held at the University of Nebraska. A crowd of more than 7,300 fans were on hand to watch the inaugural event in women's volleyball. Since 1995 the Classic has been held at Illinois State (96), Stanford University (97), University of New Mexico (98) and University of Nebraska (99).

"We are very excited to have the University of Florida host the Volleyball Classic. This will be the first time the Classic has been held in the east. The opportunity to rotate the Classic around the country enables fans in many locations to see national championship level competition", stated Jennifer Alley, Executive Director of NACWAA.

Pairings and the television broadcast schedules are incomplete but will be announced this spring. "State Farm is proud to sponsor the Classic with these top volleyball teams competing. We will be able to bring strong volleyball to the local community, and reach other fans on ESPN and ESPN2", commented Richard Bugajski, Advertising Director for State Farm Insurance Companies.

Previous champions of the Classic are Stanford University (95), University of Hawaii (96), Pennsylvania State University (97), Long Beach State University (98), and University of the Pacific (99).

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-21, 25-16)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
(15-25, 23-25, 27-29)
Friday, Sep 04
vs. American University
Honolulu, HI
(25-19, 25-19, 25-18)
Saturday, Sep 05
vs. Iowa
Honolulu, HI
(25-20, 25-16, 25-13)
Sunday, Sep 06
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
(25-16, 25-27, 25-17, 28-26)
Friday, Sep 11
vs. San Diego
Santa Barbara, CA
(25-13, 24-26, 25-21, 25-23)
Saturday, Sep 12
vs. SMU
Santa Barbara, CA
(25-20, 25-22, 25-16)
Sunday, Sep 13
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
(25-19, 27-25, 25-23)
Friday, Sep 18
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
(25-23, 25-17, 25-21)
Friday, Sep 18
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
(25-20, 19-25, 25-17, 25-14)
Wednesday, Sep 23
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
(22-25, 12-25, 19-25)
Sunday, Sep 27
at California
Berkeley, CA
(25-20, 27-25, 25-16)
Friday, Oct 02
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
(29-31, 16-25, 15-25)
Sunday, Oct 04
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
(25-20, 25-18, 30-28)
Friday, Oct 09 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Oct 11 - 11:00 AM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Friday, Oct 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Oct 25 - 12:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 30 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Nov 12 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Nov 22 - 11:00 AM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Wednesday, Nov 25 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 27 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Dec 04 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
Saturday, Dec 05 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
Friday, Dec 11 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
Saturday, Dec 12 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
Thursday, Dec 17 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Omaha, NE
Saturday, Dec 19 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Omaha, NE