Bruins Drop3-2 Contest at Oregon State

May 28, 2004

Stats

Casey Janssen held Oregon State (31-20, 10-12) to only three hits, but it would not be enough as the Bruins (31-27, 12-10) dropped a 3-2 contest to the Beavers on Friday night.

Janssen fell to 9-4 on the game, despite allowing only three Beaver hits and striking out five batters. Janssen ended the first four Beaver frames with a strikeout.

The first run of the day came in the bottom of the third inning when a two-error play put Chris Kunda on second base to lead off the inning. Another Bruin error on an attempted bunt gave the Beavers runner at the corners with no outs. Kunda when then score on a double play before Janssen struck out Jacoby Ellsbury to end the inning.

A two-out, two-run home run from Tony Calderon in the sixth frame gave Oregon State a 3-0 lead. He drove in Aaron Mathews who had singled earlier.

Ryan McCarthy would hit his 13th home run of the season to drop the Beaver lead back to one run in the seventh inning. His two-run blast also brought in Matt Thayer who had walked a batter before.

Beaver starter Jake Postlewait (11-3) threw a complete game, allowing only four Bruin hits while striking out four.

Along with McCarthy and Thayer, Billy Susdorf and Preston Griffin recorded the other two Bruin hits.

The Bruins and Beavers will face-off tomorrow in 1:00 p.m. contest. Right-hander David Johnson is scheduled to start for UCLA.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Tuesday, Mar 29
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
L, 7 - 14
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 10 - 3
Tuesday, May 03
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
W, 11 - 10
Friday, May 06
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, May 07
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, May 08
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Tuesday, May 10
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, May 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 5
Saturday, May 14
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3
Sunday, May 15
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9
Tuesday, May 17
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, May 20
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 12
Saturday, May 21
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 10
Friday, May 27
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 1
Saturday, May 28
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 3
Sunday, May 29
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 6
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS