Robin Beauregard Nominated for Peter J. Cutino Award

May 7, 2003

San Francisco, CA - The Olympic Club of San Francisco announced today the 2002-2003 Peter J. Cutino Award nominees. This award is given to the outstanding female and male Collegiate water polo players in the United States as voted by the coaches of the Division I schools.

This is the second year in a row that UCLA senior Robin Beauregard has been nominated for the Peter J. Cutino Award. Beauregard currently leads the Bruins with 37 steals and has scored 15 goals this season. For the 2003 season Beauregard has also been named to the All-MPSF First Team and All-MPSF Tournament Team. The other female nominees are Jackie Frank and Brenda Villa from Stanford University. The male nominees are: Tony Azevedo from Stanford University, Jeff Powers from UC Irvine and Jessie Smith from Pepperdine University.

The winners will be announced at the Fourth Annual Peter J. Cutino Awards Night Dinner to be held Saturday June 14th, 2003 at the Olympic Clubs' City facility at 524 Post St. in the Union Square area of San Francisco.

The award is given annually in honor of the former University of California Berkeley and Olympic Club coach Peter J. Cutino. Mr. Cutino is in the U.S. Water Polo Hall of Fame. He won "Water Polo Coach of the Year" 17 times. He led U.C. Berkeley to eight NCAA National Championships. In his career Mr. Cutino also coached in the Olympic Games, the Pan American Games, the Water Polo World Championships and the World University Games.

Past winners from UCLA include Coralie Simmons in 2001 and men's water polo player Sean Kern who was the male recipient for the 1999 and 2000 men's seasons.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events