Hannah Jun Returns To Competition

May 5, 2006

Hannah Jun has rejoined the UCLA women's golf team and will compete in next week's (May 11 - 13) NCAA West Regional in Auburn, WA.

The Bruins, who won their third straight Pac-10 title last week, are seeded No. 1 in the West Regional.

Jun, a junior, has not competed with the team since suffering injuries as a passenger in an automobile accident on December 10. She returned to practice with her teammates several weeks ago and has been cleared by personal and UCLA doctors for competition.

"We are really excited to have Hannah back in competitive condition," said head coach Carrie Forsyth. "We are grateful that she will have the opportunity to play in the post-season for us. It is a huge emotional boost to our team, and something which I believe will add to the momentum we have been building up over the past two months as we prepare for NCAAs.

"Hannah has not competed since last November," Forsyth continued, "so there is going to be an adjustment, but she is a great golfer, and time does not take that away. We are looking forward to competing for the West Regional title and moving on to the NCAA championships as the No. 1 seed."

In the Fall, Jun was ranked among the nation's Top 10 players after winning the UNLV Collegiate with a 54-hole score of 206 (-10).

Last year as a sophomore, she tied for 16th at the NCAA championships, helping UCLA to a second-place team finish. She also earned All-Pac-10 honorable mention honors.

As a freshman, she won the 2004 NCAA West Regional title and earned second-team All-America honors. She was also named second-team All-Pac-10 and Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year. The Bruins won the 2004 NCAA team title.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Monday, Feb 29
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
1st (+4, 868)
Monday, Mar 21
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Wednesday, Mar 23
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
3rd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
1st (-2, 286)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Story
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
2nd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 08
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
1st (-12, 852)
Monday, Apr 18
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 19
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 20
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
2nd (-15, 849)
Thursday, May 05
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Friday, May 06
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Saturday, May 07
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
3rd (+1, 865)
Friday, May 20
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Saturday, May 21
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Sunday, May 22
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Monday, May 23
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
1st (-8, 1,144)
Tuesday, May 24
vs. Oregon
Eugene, OR
Won 4-0-1
Tuesday, May 24
vs. Washington
Eugene, OR
Lost 3-1-1
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS