Bruins Sneak By ASU

March 13, 2004

Results

Tempe, AZ - (courtesy of thesundevils.com) The No. 31 Arizona State Women's Tennis Team stepped up to face the No. 12 Briuns of UCLA on Saturday afternoon at the Whiteman Tennis Center, and though they played hard, they still just barely lost the match, 4-3.

The day started off well for the Devils, as they quickly secured the doubles point, with the duos of Lauren Colalillo and Kady Pooler and Cindy Sureephong and Wendy Pilecka taking home wins for ASU.

Singles also went well the Devils, as they played with an incredible amount of heart and grit.

Though the Devils did lose four matches in singles, they gave UCLA a great match as they pushed four of the matches to three sets all neck and neck throughout.

Junior Lauren Colalillo's singles streak rolled on to five-in-a-row as she took down UCLA's Lauren Fisher 6-1, 6-7(8), 7-6(5) in the gritty last match of the day.

Freshman Kady Pooler also came through for the Devils with a 6-1, 7-6(5) victory over Laura Gordon.

The Devils fall to 3-7 and 0-3 in the Pac-10 standings, as the Bruins boost themselves to 9-5 on the season and 3-1 in the Pac-10.

Doubles

Pos.OpponentsScore
1.Colalillo/Pooler (ASU) def. (23) Carleton/Esseghir (UCLA)8-6
2.Pilecka/Cindy Sureephong (ASU) def. Fisher/Gordon (UCLA)8-4
3.Bercek/Gregg (UCLA) def. Burkett/Capannolo (ASU)8-1
ASU Wins Doubles Point

Singles

Pos.OpponentsScore
1.(28) Jackie Carleton (UCLA) def. Joslynn Burkett (ASU)6-2, 6-0
2.Feriel Esseghir (UCLA) def. Wendy Pilecka (ASU)6-2, 5-7, 6-4
3.(40) Daniela Bercek (UCLA) def. Vana Tomas (ASU)6-3, 7-5
4.Sarah Gregg (UCLA) def. Sabrina Capannolo (ASU)4-6, 6-3, 6-2
5.Lauren Colalillo (ASU) def. Lauren Fisher (UCLA)6-1, 6-7(8), 7-6(5)
6.Kady Pooler (ASU) def. Laura Gordon (UCLA)6-1, 7-6(5)

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. National Collegiate ...
Palm Desert, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Freeman Memorial ...
Las Vegas, NV
-
Friday, Jan 22
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Saint Mary's
Pacific Palisades, CA
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Feb 07 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Northwestern
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 1:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 12:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:30 PM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Sunday, Apr 03 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - TBA PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS