Men's Tennis Players Compete at Two Tournaments

Jan. 14, 2005

Members of the UCLA men's tennis team are competing in two tounaments this weekend, splitting time between the Sherwood Collegiate Cup in Thousand Oaks, Calif. and the National Collegiate Tennis Classic in Palm Springs, Calif.

At the Sherwood Collegiate Cup, the Bruins had four players advance to the quarterfinals of singles on Friday, as Luben Pampoulov, Ben Kohlloeffel, Philipp Gruendler and Chris Lam all won two matches. Singles play continues Saturday along with the first round of doubles play.

Just two players are competing at the NCTC in Palm Springs, with Kris Kwinta advancing to the quarterfinals in singles. He will face Pepperdine's Pedro Rico on Saturday. In doubles, Alberto Francis and Kwinta were upset in the first round.

Sherwood Collegiate Cup (Thousand Oaks, Calif.)

1st Round:

Philipp Gruendler (UCLA) def. Phil Kao (Stanford), 6-4, 6-4
Sam Warburg (Stanford) def. Jaysen Chung (UCLA), 6-2, 6-1
Luben Pampoulov (UCLA) def. Eric Mckean (Stanford), 6-4, 7-6(4)
Chris Lam (UCLA) def. Brian Wright (USC), 3-6, 6-4, 6-2
Mathieu Dehaine (UCLA) def. Phil Sheng (Stanford), 6-4, 6-3
Jon Wong (Stanford) def. Jason Nguyen (UCLA), 7-6(3), 6-3
Benjamin Kohlloeffel (UCLA) def. James Wan (Stanford), 6-3, 6-0

2nd Round:
Philipp Gruendler (UCLA) def. Kaes Van't Hof (USC), 6-3, 6-3 Luben Pampoulov (UCLA) def. Drew Hoskins (USC), 6-4, 6-1 Lars Poerschke (Baylor) def. Mathieu Dehaine (UCLA) 6-3, 6-3 Benjamin Kohlloeffel (UCLA) def. Jonas Berg (Pepperdine) 6-4,2-6,6-3

Quarterfinals
Pampoulov vs. Jamil Al-agba (USC) Gruendler vs. Sam Warburg (Stanford) Lars Poerschke (Baylor) vs. Lam Kohlloeffel vs. Jonas Berg (Pepperdine)

Saturday's Schedule
9:00 a.m. - Singles Consolation 11:00 a.m. - Singles Quarterfinals 3:00 p.m. - Doubles First Round

National Collegiate Tennis Classic @ Indian Wells Tennis Garden

1st round:
Kris Kwinta (UCLA) def. Carey Rubin (Kentucky) 6-3, 6-2
Alberto Francis - BYE

2nd Round:
Kris Kwinta (UCLA) def Somdev Devvarman (Virginia), 7-5, 7-5 Nate Emge (Kentucky) def Alberto Francis (UCLA), 7-5, 6-3

Doubles Quarterfinals:
Devvarman/ Treat Huey (Virginia) def. Francis/Kwinta, 8-1


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Bruin Racqueteer Day
Los Angeles, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. NCTC Tournament
Palm Springs, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Sherwood Collegiate ...
Thousand Oaks, CA
-
Wednesday, Jan 20
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Maui, HI
-
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. SMU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Georgia Tech
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Dallas, TX
-
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
LIVE NOW
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
LIVE NOW
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
-
Friday, Feb 12 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. Georgia
Charlottesville, VA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 03 - All Day PST
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
Thursday, Mar 10 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 1:00 PM PST
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Mar 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Friday, Apr 01 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 10 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS