Men's Tennis Players Compete at Two Tournaments

Jan. 14, 2005

Members of the UCLA men's tennis team are competing in two tounaments this weekend, splitting time between the Sherwood Collegiate Cup in Thousand Oaks, Calif. and the National Collegiate Tennis Classic in Palm Springs, Calif.

At the Sherwood Collegiate Cup, the Bruins had four players advance to the quarterfinals of singles on Friday, as Luben Pampoulov, Ben Kohlloeffel, Philipp Gruendler and Chris Lam all won two matches. Singles play continues Saturday along with the first round of doubles play.

Just two players are competing at the NCTC in Palm Springs, with Kris Kwinta advancing to the quarterfinals in singles. He will face Pepperdine's Pedro Rico on Saturday. In doubles, Alberto Francis and Kwinta were upset in the first round.

Sherwood Collegiate Cup (Thousand Oaks, Calif.)

1st Round:

Philipp Gruendler (UCLA) def. Phil Kao (Stanford), 6-4, 6-4
Sam Warburg (Stanford) def. Jaysen Chung (UCLA), 6-2, 6-1
Luben Pampoulov (UCLA) def. Eric Mckean (Stanford), 6-4, 7-6(4)
Chris Lam (UCLA) def. Brian Wright (USC), 3-6, 6-4, 6-2
Mathieu Dehaine (UCLA) def. Phil Sheng (Stanford), 6-4, 6-3
Jon Wong (Stanford) def. Jason Nguyen (UCLA), 7-6(3), 6-3
Benjamin Kohlloeffel (UCLA) def. James Wan (Stanford), 6-3, 6-0

2nd Round:
Philipp Gruendler (UCLA) def. Kaes Van't Hof (USC), 6-3, 6-3 Luben Pampoulov (UCLA) def. Drew Hoskins (USC), 6-4, 6-1 Lars Poerschke (Baylor) def. Mathieu Dehaine (UCLA) 6-3, 6-3 Benjamin Kohlloeffel (UCLA) def. Jonas Berg (Pepperdine) 6-4,2-6,6-3

Quarterfinals
Pampoulov vs. Jamil Al-agba (USC) Gruendler vs. Sam Warburg (Stanford) Lars Poerschke (Baylor) vs. Lam Kohlloeffel vs. Jonas Berg (Pepperdine)

Saturday's Schedule
9:00 a.m. - Singles Consolation 11:00 a.m. - Singles Quarterfinals 3:00 p.m. - Doubles First Round

National Collegiate Tennis Classic @ Indian Wells Tennis Garden

1st round:
Kris Kwinta (UCLA) def. Carey Rubin (Kentucky) 6-3, 6-2
Alberto Francis - BYE

2nd Round:
Kris Kwinta (UCLA) def Somdev Devvarman (Virginia), 7-5, 7-5 Nate Emge (Kentucky) def Alberto Francis (UCLA), 7-5, 6-3

Doubles Quarterfinals:
Devvarman/ Treat Huey (Virginia) def. Francis/Kwinta, 8-1


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Feb 09
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Georgia
Charlottesville, VA
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Texas A&M
Charlottesville, VA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Feb 14
vs. North Carolina
Charlottesville, VA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Saturday, Feb 27
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
W, 4 - 3
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
LIVE NOW
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
-
Thursday, Mar 10
vs. BYU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Mar 22
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
W, 6 - 1
Friday, Mar 25
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Mar 27
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Apr 10
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 0
Thursday, Apr 14
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Stanford
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. California
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, May 14 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Team & ...
TBA
Sunday, May 15 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Team & ...
TBA
Thursday, May 19 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Team & ...
Tulsa, OK
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS