Nate Pena Named PDL Goalkeeper Of The Year

Aug. 2, 2005

UCLA senior goalkepeer Nate Pena was awarded Premier Development League (PDL) Goalkeeper of the Year honors after posting a 0.47 goals against average for the Orange County Blue Star.

Pena also led the league in shutouts (seven) and wins (13) and led his team to a 15-1-0 season and the regular season championship.

Pena and the Blue Stars have advanced to the PDL semifinals, which will take place Saturday at 8:30 pm ET in Des Moines against the Des Moines Menace. Also on the squad are senior defender Jordan Harvey, who had an assist in the 3-0 win over the Cascade Surge in last weekend's Western Conference Final; junior defender Brandon Owens; sophomore forward Kamani Hill; senior midfielder Ryan Valdez and former Bruins Taylor Canel (03-04); Nick Theslof (1994-97), who is also the team's coach; and Brian Irvin (1993-96).

Also making the PDL playoffs were the Southern California Seahorses, which lost to the Surge in the Western Conference Semifinals. Members of the Seahorses included junior midfielder/defender Patrick Ianni; junior defender Kiel McClung; senior forward Evan Corey, who scored two goals in just four games played; and junior goalkeeper Eric Reed, who posted five shutouts.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Tuesday, Aug 18
vs. Mexican U-17 ...
Los Angeles, CA
T, 1 - 1
Saturday, Aug 22
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. New Mexico
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 04 - 4:00 PM PST
at Maryland
College Park, MD
Monday, Sep 07 - 10:00 AM PST
at Georgetown
Washington, DC
Sunday, Sep 13 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. UC Riverside
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Sep 21 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 25 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. VCU
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 27 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 1:30 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Sunday, Oct 04 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Monday, Oct 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 16 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Oct 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 8:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 3:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 10:00 AM PST
at Akron
Akron, OH
Friday, Nov 06 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 08 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Nov 14 - 7:00 PM PST
at San Diego State
San Diego, CA
Thursday, Nov 19 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
Sunday, Nov 29 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS