No. 5 Bruins Beat San Diego State, 5-2

Feb. 19, 2002

Results

Los Angeles - Forced to rally after losing the doubles point, the No. 5 UCLA men's tennis team bounced back strong in singles play, taking five out of six matches en route to a 5-2 dual-match victory over San Diego State at the Los Angeles Tennis Center on Tuesday.

Tuesday's match was highlighted by a meeting between the top two doubles teams in the nation, as No. 1-ranked Marcin Matkowski and Jean-Julien Rojer of UCLA took on No. 2-ranked Oliver Maiberger and Ryan Redondo of SDSU. The Aztecs notched a slim upset in that match, as Maiberger and Redondo registered an 8-3 victory in the No. 1 slot. SDSU clinched the doubles point at the No. 2 position where Felix Hardt and Valentino Pest upset 16th-ranked Tobias Clemens and Lassi Ketola of UCLA, 8-6. Tuesday marked only the second time in 10 matches this season that the Bruins have lost the doubles point.

Though the Aztecs managed to grab an early 1-0 lead following doubles play, singles action was dominated by UCLA. Bruin junior Rodrigo Grilli quickly tied the match up at one apiece after registering a convincing, 6-2, 6-2 victory over Hardt in the No. 2 position. Shortly thereafter, the Bruins took a 3-1 lead following victories by Rojer and Erfan Djahangiri at the Nos. 3 and 5 positions respectively.

Matkowski clinched the match for the Bruins at the No. 4 position where he recorded a 6-4, 7-6 victory over SDSU's Travis Hasson, giving UCLA a 4-1 lead.

In a match featuring two top-20 players, Clemens, ranked 19th in the country, defeated No. 11 Maiberger of SDSU, 7-6, 6-3 in the No. 1 slot. Clemens, who extended his winning streak to 17 straight matches, also defeated Maiberger in the finals of the Sherwood Collegiate Cup back in January.

UCLA will finish the week in Arizona, as the Bruins take on ASU this Friday in Tempe and Arizona this Saturday in Tucson.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
-
Thursday, Mar 10
vs. BYU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Mar 22
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
W, 6 - 1
Friday, Mar 25
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Mar 27
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Apr 10
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 0
Thursday, Apr 14
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Stanford
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. California
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Friday, May 13
vs. Weber State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, May 14
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, May 20
vs. Stanford
Tulsa, OK
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Oklahoma
Tulsa, OK
L, 3 - 4
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS